STATE OF RHODE ISLAND AND PROVIDENCE PLANTATIONS
DEPARTMENT OF BUSINESS REGULATION
JOHN O. PASTORE COMPLEX
1511 PONTIAC AVENUE
CRANSTON, RI 02920

IN THE MATTER OF

KENNY MEDEIROS : DBR No. 13AB149
d/b/a KENNY’S AUTO BODY :

RESPONDENTS,

CONSENT AGREEMENT

The Division of Commercial Licensing (“Division”) of the Rhode Island Department of
Business Regulation (“Department™) enters into this Consent Agreement (“Agreement”) with
Kenny Medeiros d/b/a Kenny's Auto Body (“Respondent”) to resolve the above-captioned
matter pursuant to its authority under R.I. Gen. Laws § 42-35-9(d).

It is hereby agreed by and between the Division and the Respondents that:

1. Respondent operates a business located at 371 Metacom Avenue in Warren, Rhode Island

(the “Premises™).

2. On or about May 1, 1973, the Department issued a full collision auto body repair license
to the Respondent for the Premises (the “License™).
3. The renewal application was due December 31, 2012, a deadline set pursuant to the

Department’s statutory authority under R.I. Gen. Laws § 5-38-7(a}.

4. The Respondent failed to submit a “timely” and “sufficient” renewal application within
the meaning of R.1. Gen. Laws § 42-35-14(b).
5. The Department’s Chief Public Safety Inspector inspected the premises on November 19,

2013 and determined that the Respondent was engaged in unlicensed auto body repair.



R .1 Gen. Laws § 5-38-4 provides that “[n]o person, firm, or corporation shall engage
within this state in the business of auto body repairing or painting or enter into contracts
for the repairing, replacing, or painting of auto bodies or parts of auto bodies or advertise
or represent in any form or manner that he, she, or it is an auto body shop unless that
person, firm, or corporation possesses a license in full force and effect from the
department of business regulation specifying that person, firm. or corporation as licensed
to operate or conduct an auto body shop.”
The Division agrees to grant the renewal of the License upon satisfaction of the following
conditions:
a. The Respondent shall satisfy all requirements of licensure by submitting all
application materials, including the $ 900 renewal fee.
b. The Respondent shall pay an administrative penalty of $ 500.
If the Respondent has not achieved full compliance with Commercial Licensing
Regulation16 Motor Vehicle Body Repair Technician Certification, the License renewal
shall only be granted on the condition that the Respondent satisfy the requirements
thereof ninety (90) days from the date that this Agreement is executed. If this condition
applies, the Respondent understands that failure to achieve full compliance within 90
days may result in suspension, revocation, or other disciplinary action without a hearing.
If the Respondent cannot fulfill the course requirements due to the non-availability of the
required courses and through no fault of their own, the Division may extend the time to

comply.



Respondent voluntarily waives any right to an administrative hearing and appeal to
Superior Court under the Rhode Island Administrative Procedures Act, R.I. Gen. Laws §
42-35-1 et seq.

If Respondent fails to abide by the requirements of this Consent Agreement, the

Department may initiate further administrative proceedings against the Respondent.

For the Division: For the Respondents:
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Maria 1D’ Alessandro, Esq. Kenny Medeiros
Deputy Director, Securities, Commercial d/b/a Kenny’s Auto Body
Licensing and Racing and Athletics




