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State of Rhode Island 
Department of Business Regulation 
Division of Commercial Licensing 

Motor Vehicle Glass Repair Section 
1511 Pontiac Ave, Bldg. 69-1 

Cranston, RI 02920

MOTOR VEHICLE GLASS REPAIR  
INSTRUCTIONS AND LICENSE APPLICATION 

Applicants are strongly encouraged to apply online at: https://elicensing.ri.gov/ 

Complete the application and return with the following required attachments. 
Incomplete applications will be returned. 

FOR ALL LICENSEES 
• LICENSE FEE $300 per year — maximum of 3 years ($900). Check or money order 

payable to “Rhode Island General Treasurer.”
• CERTIFICATE OF INSURANCE (INSURANCE BINDER) Policy shall provide 

for bodily injury and property damage “Garage Liability” for five hundred thousand
($500,000) combined single limit, and “Garage Keepers Liability” for damage to customer 
property for one hundred thousand ($100,000) per occurrence.

• CRIMINAL HISTORY REPORT Mandatory for all owners, corporate officers, and

managers. 

• TECHNICIAN CERTIFICATION Proof of satisfactory completion of classes per Regulation

230-RICR-30-05-3.8.

FOR DRIVE-IN AND COMBINATION SHOPS 
• EVIDENCE OF FIRE SAFETY APPROVAL Letter from local Fire Department or State

Fire Marshal stating shop has passed inspection according to all local and state
laws/regulations/codes for fire, health, and safety. It must also confirm safety inspection and
approval of spray booth and refinishing area for painting.

• EVIDENCE OF ZONING APPROVAL Letter from city/town stating you comply
with all zoning laws to operate an auto body shop in that location.

• (Only for New and Transfers)
• REGISTRATION AND INSURANCE If using a mobile service van, whether on a mobile-only

basis or as an extension of a physical location, attach evidence of registration and insurance as a
commercial vehicle for each van.

FOR MOBILE ONLY SHOPS 
• COVERED LOCATION ADDRESS IN RHODE ISLAND When there’s inclement weather,

you must provide work in an enclosed space per Rhode Island General Law §5-38.5-6.  (Include
a letter from the owner of the shop or their designee stating you have an agreement.)

• REGISTRATION AND INSURANCE If using a mobile service van, whether on a mobile-only
basis or as an extension of a physical location, attach evidence of registration and insurance as a
commercial vehicle for each van.

Notice to all applicants: 
• Your license number must appear on all business communications, estimates, signs, business

cards and other written documentation.
• Transfers of owner or business location require a new application and must be approved in

advance by The Department.
• The Department now sends all correspondence by email.

http://www.dbr.ri.gov/
https://elicensing.ri.gov/
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State of Rhode Island 
Department of Business Regulation 
Division of Commercial Licensing 

Motor Vehicle Glass Repair Section 
1511 Pontiac Ave, Bldg. 69-1 

Cranston, RI 02920

MOTOR VEHICLE GLASS REPAIR APPLICATION 
Please type.  Incomplete applications will be returned. 

TYPE OF APPLICATION 
□ New □ Renewal      □ Transfer  If Renewal or Transfer, License Number: 

OWNER INFORMATION 
Name: DOB: 
Address: 
City, State, Zip: 
Email: Phone: 

BUSINESS INFORMATION 
Type of Business: 

□ Sole Proprietorship   □ Partnership   □Corporation   □ LLC   □ Other
Type of Shop: 

□ Drive-In Only      □ Mobile      □Combination (Mobile and Drive-In)
Name:     FEIN: 
DBA (If applicable): 
Address: 
City, State, Zip: 
Email: Phone: 

DESIGNEE INFORMATION 
(Person The Department can speak to regarding the business) 

Name: 
Address: 
City, State, Zip: 
Email: Phone: 

PERSON(S) WITH FINANCIAL INTEREST (IF APPLICABLE) 
Name:   DOB: 
Title: 
Address: 
City, State, Zip: 
Email: Phone: 
Name:   DOB: 
Title: 
Address: 
City, State, Zip: 
Email: Phone: 
Name:   DOB: 
Title: 
Address: 
City, State, Zip: 
Email: Phone: 
Name:   DOB: 
Title: 
Address: 
City, State, Zip: 
Email: Phone: 

http://www.dbr.ri.gov/
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State of Rhode Island 
Department of Business Regulation 
Division of Commercial Licensing 

Motor Vehicle Glass Repair Section 
1511 Pontiac Ave, Bldg. 69-1 

Cranston, RI 02920

MOTOR VEHICLE GLASS REPAIR APPLICATION — CONTINUED 
Please type.  Incomplete applications will be returned. 

APPLICATION QUESTIONS 
Have you, an employee, manager, partner, member, officer, stockholder ever been involved in any 
business which had an application for license/permit denied, or had a business license/permit refused, 
suspended or revoked or had any disciplinary action taken against a license in Rhode Island or any 
other state?  
(If yes, please explain using a separate sheet.)   □ Yes       □ No 
Have you, or any person having a financial interest in this business ever been a party in any 
proceedings (civil, criminal or otherwise) involving fraud, deceit or misrepresentation or ever plead 
nolo contendere to a misdemeanor or felony?  
(If yes, please explain using a separate sheet.)    □ Yes       □ No 
If using a mobile service van, whether on a mobile-only basis or as an extension of a physical location, 
attach evidence of registration and insurance as a commercial vehicle for each van.  
If yes, number of vans in service:   

MOBILE ONLY SHOPS 
List permanent location address in Rhode Island where glass services will be conducted in inclement 
weather per R.I.G.L. §5-38.5-6 — Listed Shop must be authorized under R.I.G.L. §5-38 (Auto Body 
Repair), § 5-38.3 (Motor Vehicle Repair), §5-38.5 (MV Glass), OR §5-31 (Dealers) 
Name of Shop: 
License Number: 
Address: 
A letter must be attached from the owner or their designee stating you have an agreement. 

EMPLOYEE LIST 
Name:   □Glass Repair Tech □ Employee

Name:   □Glass Repair Tech □ Employee

Name:   □Glass Repair Tech □ Employee

Name:   □Glass Repair Tech □ Employee

Name:   □Glass Repair Tech □ Employee

I certify, under the penalty of perjury, that all technicians are certified as required by Regulation 230-
RICR-30-05-3.8.     
□ Yes     □ No     (proof must be attached)
I certify, under the penalty of perjury, that the Applicant possesses and maintains in working order the 
equipment necessary: To perform motor vehicle windshield glass stone chip repair; and To perform 
motor vehicle glass replacement services. 
□ Yes     □ No

http://www.dbr.ri.gov/
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State of Rhode Island
Department of Business Regulation
Division of Commercial Licensing

Motor Vehicle Glass Repair Section
1511 Pontiac Ave, Bldg. 69-1

Cranston, RI 02920

MOTOR VEHICLE GLASS REPAIR APPLICATION — CONTINUED 
Please type.  Incomplete applications will be returned. 

AFFIDAVIT(S) & SIGNATURE 
Tax Payer Status Affidavit 
Pursuant to R.I. Gen. Laws, Chapter 5-76, as amended, any person applying for or renewing any license, permit, or other 
authority to conduct a business or occupation within Rhode Island must have filed all required state tax returns and paid all 
taxes due to the state or must have entered into a written agreement to pay delinquent state taxes that is satisfactory to the 
Tax Administrator. 

Have you filed all required Rhode Island State tax returns, and have you paid all taxes owed?        Yes        No 

Affidavit of Application 
I swear, under penalty of perjury that the information provided in connection with this application is true to the best of my 
knowledge, with the understanding that any omissions, inaccuracies or failure to make full disclosures may be deemed 
sufficient reason to deny licensure by the Rhode Island Department of Business Regulation. 

 _____________________________________________________        _____________________________________________________ 
   Signature of Applicant   Date of Signature (MM/DD/YY) 

OFFICE USE ONLY 
Date 

Date application received: 
Check #   Amount: 
Technician Certifications received: 
BCI(s) received: 
Insurance Binder received: 
Fire Safety Certificate received: 
Evidence of Zoning Approval received: 
Certificate of Good Standing (if applicable) received: 
EPA Number received: 

http://www.dbr.ri.gov/
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