
   

 

DIVISION OF BANKING 
1511 Pontiac Avenue, Building 68-2 

Cranston, Rhode Island 02920 

 

Telephone (401) 462-9503 - Facsimile (401) 462-9532 

 
 

TO:  SALE OF CHECKS, ELECTRONIC MONEY TRANSFER, CHECK CASHING, AND DEBT 

MANAGEMENT LICENSEES 

 
RE:  FINAL ANNUAL REPORT 

 

PLEASE READ ALL DOCUMENTS CAREFULLY 

R. I. Gen. Laws §19-14-16 requires any licensee terminating business to notify the Division of Banking 

(“Division”) of such termination in writing within twenty-four (24) hours from the termination of 

business
1 
at the licensed location.  

 

The Final Annual Report ("Report") must be completed and filed via a PDF Email attachment to 

bankinquiry@dbr.ri.gov for receipt by the Division, in accordance with the provisions of R. I. Gen. Laws   §§ 

19-14-16 and 19-14-22, as amended, within the earlier of thirty (30) days of receipt by the Division of 

written notice of the surrender of the license, or sixty (60) days of termination of business under the 

Rhode Island License(s), in order to complete the surrender of a license and to avoid late filing penalties of 

twenty-five dollars ($25.00) per day. Please submit payment of the filing fee of fifty-five dollars ($55.00) for 

each license and each branch certificate included in the Report.  Cancellation or surrender of a license will 

not be complete until receipt by the Division of a properly completed Report including applicable filing 

fees and the original license(s) and branch certificate(s), where applicable. 

The Final Annual Report ("Report") must be completed and filed for receipt by the Division, in accordance 

with the provisions of R. I. Gen. Laws §§ 19-14-16 and 19-14-22, as amended, within the earlier of thirty 

(30) days of receipt by the Division of written notice of the surrender of the license, or sixty (60) days of 

termination of business under the Rhode Island License(s), in order to complete the surrender of a license 

and to avoid late filing penalties of twenty-five dollars ($25.00) per day. Please forward the Report along with 

a filing fee of fifty-five dollars ($55.00) for each license and each branch certificate included in the Report. 

Cancellation or surrender of a license will not be complete until receipt by the Division of a properly 

completed Report including applicable filing fees and the original license(s) and branch certificate(s), 

where applicable. 

Very truly yours, 
 

 

Sara Paterson Cabral 

Supervisor of Examinations  

 
Please contact Supervisor of Examinations, Sara Paterson Cabral at (401) 462-9570 or sara.cabral@dbr.ri.gov or 

Assistant Supervisor of Examinations, Rebecca L. Specht at (401) 462-9564 rebecca.specht@dbr.ri.gov if you have 

any questions related to the filing of this Report.   

                                                           
1
 For purposes of R. I. Gen. Laws §19-14-16 a licensee terminates business when it no longer engages in activity  

   governed by the Rhode Island license, whether or not the licensee terminates all other business. 

mailto:bankinquiry@dbr.ri.gov
mailto:sara.cabral@dbr.ri.gov
mailto:rebecca.specht@dbr.ri.gov


   

 

1511 Pontiac Avenue, Building 68-2 

Cranston, Rhode Island 02920 

 

Telephone (401) 462-9503 - Facsimile (401) 462-9532 

 

FINAL ANNUAL REPORT 
 

SALE OF CHECKS, ELECTRONIC MONEY TRANSFER, AND CHECK CASHING LICENSEES 

 
FOR THE PERIOD FROM JANUARY 1, ____ THROUGH THE DATE OF TERMINATION OF BUSINESS 

Pursuant to Sections 16 and 22 of Chapter 14 of Title 19 of the General Laws of Rhode Island, each Rhode Island 

CHECK SELLER, ELECTRONIC MONEY TRANSMITTER AND CHECK CASHER LICENSEE must file this Final 

Annual Report (“Report”) in order to surrender a license issued pursuant to Chapter 14 of Title 19 of the Rhode Island 

General Laws. 

 

License/Registration Number(s)   #      #       #    

    

                           
Name of Licensee as it Appears on the Main Office License (include d/b/a if applicable) 

                           

Street, City, State, Zip Code (Address as it Appears on the Main Office License) 

NOTE:   

 
The Licensee may be subject to late filing penalties in 

accordance with R. I. Gen. Laws  § 19-14-22 at the rate of 

twenty-five dollars ($25) per day and/or examination fees 

pursuant to R. I. Gen. Laws  § 19-14-23  if an incomplete 

Report is submitted. 

 

NOTE: The accuracy and correctness of this Report 

must be attested to by: 1) in the case of a Corporation 

or Limited Liability Company, at least two (2) 

Members of the Board of Directors; 2) in the case of 

a Partnership, by at least two (2) Partners; or 3) in 

the case of a Sole Proprietorship, by the Owner. 

 

The penalty, upon conviction, of filing any false entry 

in the Report is a maximum of $50,000 and 

imprisonment for up to twenty (20) years. 

 

 

We, the undersigned, have examined the contents of 

this Report and attest to the completeness, accuracy and 

correctness of this Report. 

 

             

Signature of Director      Date 

             

Signature of Director      Date 

             

Signature of Partner      Date 

             

Signature of Partner      Date 

             

Signature of Owner      Date 

THIS REPORT (6 OF 6 PAGES) IS A TIME SENSITIVE DOCUMENT. PLEASE FORWARD THE REPORT 

TO THE OFFICER/PERSON RESPONSIBLE FOR ITS COMPLETION IMMEDIATELY 



  

   

 

Schedule A - Rhode Island Licensed Activity from January 1, ____ to the Date of Termination of Business
1
 

 

1. License/Registration Number(s)   #     #     #      

 

2. Are Licenses/Registrations and Branch Certificates enclosed?      Yes    No    

 

If “NO”, include a written statement that attests to the fact that the Licenses/Registrations and Branch Certificates 

have been lost or misplaced. 

  

3. SALE OF CHECK LICENSEES ONLY 

 

Number and dollar amount of checks
2 
sold under the Rhode Island Sale of Check License from January 1, ____ 

through the date of the termination of business. 

 

       Number  Dollar Amount 

Checks Sold           #   $    

 

4 ELECTRONIC MONEY TRANSFER LICENSEES ONLY 

 

Number and original dollar amount of money transfers made under the Rhode Island Electronic Money Transfer 

License from January 1, ____ through the date of the termination of business. 

 

        Number  Dollar Amount 

Money Transfers Made        #   $    

 
5 CHECK CASHING LICENSEES ONLY 

 

Number and dollar amount of checks cashed under the Rhode Island Check Cashing License from January 1, ____ 

through the date of the termination of business. 

Number  Dollar Amount 

Checks Cashed          #   $    

6 DEBT MANAGEMENT SERVICES LICENSEES ONLY 

 

Number and dollar amount of active agreements still being serviced under the Rhode Island Debt Management 

Services Registration from January 1, ____ through the date of the termination of business. 

Number  Dollar Amount 

Checks Cashed          #   $    

 

                                                           
1  

Include only Rhode Island licensed activity
. 

2 
Checks as defined in R. I. Gen. Laws§ 19-14-1. 
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Schedule B - Miscellaneous Information 

 

1. Provide the Name of the Surety who issued the Bond along with the Bond Number and Bond Amount for each 

Bond or Securities on Deposit in lieu of Bond outstanding as of the filing of this Report. 

a) Surety (not agent)                      

License Number      Bond Number       Amount $     

License Number      Bond Number       Amount $     

b) Name of Custodian of Securities on Deposit-in-lieu of Bond            

License Number      Securities on Deposit-in-lieu  

of Bond Number        Amount $     

License Number      Securities on Deposit-in-lieu  

of Bond Number        Amount $     

Licensees are reminded that any bonds issued must remain on file with the Division until the applicable statute 

of limitations for causes of action have expired (R. I. Gen. Laws § 9-1-1 et seq.). 

2. Provide the name, address and telephone number of the attorney (other than the manager or an official of the 

licensee) or company in Rhode Island who will accept service of process pursuant to R. I. Gen. Laws §19-14-10: 

Name                         

Street                         

City, State & Zip Code                     

Telephone Number                      

3. Provide the name, address, telephone and fax number of the custodian of the records for the canceled license. 

Name of Custodian of the Records                   

Street                         

City, State & Zip Code                     

Telephone Number (toll free if applicable)                 

Fax Number                         

4. Provide the address, telephone and fax number of the location of the records for the canceled license(s). 

Street                         

City, State & Zip Code                     

Telephone Number (toll free if applicable)                 

Fax Number                         

5. Indicate below with a (√) whether there were any transactions pending as of the date of termination of Rhode 

Island business.  If any transactions were pending, provide a list which includes the name and address of the 

licensee’s customer, the amount of the transaction and an explanation of the final disposition of the transaction(s). 

a) List of pending transactions enclosed                 

b) No transactions pending                    
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Schedule B - Miscellaneous Information (continued) 

 

6. Provide the name, title, telephone and fax number of the individual authorized to respond to questions about this 

Report: 

 

Name                         

Title                         

Telephone Number (toll free if applicable)         Fax Number      

E-mail Address                        

 

7. Provide the date of termination of business under the Rhode Island License(s)         

 

 

WHERE INSUFFICIENT SPACE IS PROVIDED TO SET FORTH THE FACTS ADEQUATELY, 

ATTACH A SCHEDULE INDICATING THE DETAILS 

 

 

 

CHECK MUST BE MADE PAYABLE TO 

 

 “GENERAL TREASURER - STATE OF RHODE ISLAND” 

PLEASE NOTE: CHECKS WITH THE INCORRECT PAYEE WILL BE RETURNED 

Return Check To 

Department of Business Regulation 

Division of Banking 

1511 Pontiac Avenue, Building 68-2 

Cranston, RI 02920 

 

 

 

 

Please contact Supervisor of Examinations, Sara Paterson Cabral at (401) 462-9570 or sara.cabral@dbr.ri.gov or 

Assistant Supervisor of Examinations, Rebecca L. Specht at (401) 462-9564 rebecca.specht@dbr.ri.gov if you have any 

questions related to the filing of this Report.  The Division prefers to respond to questions in advance so licensees 

may avoid Report filing delays and the penalties associated with the filing of an incomplete or inadequate 

Report.  

 
 

Late Filing Penalties Are Twenty-Five Dollars ($25) Per Day  

For The Delayed Filing Of This Report 

mailto:sara.cabral@dbr.ri.gov
mailto:rebecca.specht@dbr.ri.gov
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Schedule C - Report Filing Fee Calculation 

 

 

Enter the License and Branch Certificate Number, including the two-letter License suffix (i.e. SC, MT, or CC), as 

well as the Branch suffix (i.e. B01, B02, B03, etc.) for each License and Branch Certificate being surrendered by the 

licensee. 

 

 

 

 

1. SALE OF CHECK LICENSEES (suffix SC)  

 

 License Number                  #     

 

Report Filing Fee                  $ 55.00 

 

 

2. ELECTRONIC MONEY TRANSFER LICENSEES (suffix MT)  

 

License Number                  #     

 

Report Filing Fee                  $ 55.00 

 

 

3. CHECK CASHING LICENSEES (suffix CC)  

 

License Number                  #     

Branch Certificate Number(s)     #      #     #     

   #      #     #     

 

a) Number of CHECK CASHING License and Branch Certificate Numbers entered above #     

b) Report Filing fee per License and Branch Certificate           $ 55.00 

c) Total CHECK CASHING Report filing fee (3a x 3b)         $     

 

4. TOTAL REPORT FILING FEES DUE (Sum of 1, 2, and 3c)       $     
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Schedule  E – Notary Public 

 

This schedule is to be used to satisfy the signature witness requirement of the Report filing.  The directors, partners, or 

sole proprietor signatures, whichever is applicable, appearing on page 1 of this Report are to be witnessed on this 

Schedule. 

 

 

State of             

 

County of            

 

In             in said County on the   day of       20   

 

before me personally appeared             , known by me to be the party executing  

 

the foregoing instrument, on behalf of                 (“Licensee”) 

          (Name of Licensee) 

 

and he/she acknowledged said instrument by him or her executed to be his or her free act and deed and the free act and 

deed of said Licensee. 

 

 

SEAL                        

                 Notary Public 

 

 

State of             

 

County of            

 

In             in said County on the   day of       20   

 

before me personally appeared             , known by me to be the party executing  

 

the foregoing instrument, on behalf of                  (“Licensee”) 

           (Name of Licensee) 

 

and he/she acknowledged said instrument by him or her executed to be his or her free act and deed and the free act and  

deed of said Licensee. 

 

 

  SEAL                        

                Notary Public 

 

 

Final Annual Report Sale of Check, Electronic Money Transfer, Check Cashing 2010 revised 12/31/13rs 
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PAYMENT 

SCHEDULE 

A COPY OF THIS SCHEDULE  
MUST ACCOMPANY YOUR PAYMENT 

License Type 

Column 1 
 

Main 

Column 2 
 

No. Branches 

Column 3 
No. Main and 

Branches 
(column 1 plus column 

2) 

Column 4 
Total Fee by Type                

(column 3 multiplied by $55) 

Sale of Check         

Electronic Money 
Transfer 

         

Check Cashing      

         

Total     

                   

 

Licensee full legal name:                     

 

License Number(s)                      

  

 

Check must be payable to: “General Treasurer, State of Rhode Island” 

 
Make a copy of this Completed Page 7 and mail the Original 

Completed Page 7 with your check to: 
 

State of Rhode Island  

Department of Business Regulation 

Division of Banking 

1511 Pontiac Avenue, Building 68-2 

Cranston, RI 02920-4407 

 

 

PAGES 1 THROUGH 6 MUST BE SUMBITTED AS A 

PDF ATTACHMENT VIA EMAIL TO: 
 

bankinquiry@dbr.ri.gov 
 


