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INSTRUCTIONS	FOR	CERTIFIED	CONSTABLE	APPLICANTS	
All applicants must be at least twenty-one (21) years of age, per RI Gen. Laws § 9-5-10.1 

The	following	documents	must	be	submitted	for	consideration:	

 A completed Certified Constable Application

 Resume

 A Criminal History Record (CHR) from the Rhode Island Department of the Attorney General located

at 4 Howard Avenue, Cranston, RI 02920.   Hours of operation are 8:30 am to 4:30 pm.  For further questions

about this process, you may contact the DAG at (401) 274-4400.

 Letters from two (2) licensed attorneys certifying that you are a proper candidate for certification as a constable;

AND they intend to utilize you to serve process in the state.

• A Letter from a Training Constable, who is in good standing for a minimum of ten (10) years and is approved by

the Chief Judge of the District Court to train perspective constables.

Once	the	above	documentation	has	been	received,	the	following	will	occur:	

1. The Department will refer the application to the Certified Constables’ Board for approval or denial;

2. The Board will determine whether the applicant should be recommended for training by a board approved

constable.  Training consists of a minimum of ninety (90) hours that must be completed within ninety (90)

days from the date of the board referral;

3. The Training Constable must submit a training log, found on the Department’s website, to the board that

reflects the dates and times of training and comments on the aptitude of the trainee, within thirty (30) days

from the conclusion of training.

4. An appointment will then be scheduled for you to appear before the Board to complete an oral and written

examination.  Based on the exam results, the Board will forward their approval or denial recommendation to

the Department.

5. Once the Department has made its final review and approval, a swearing in date will be scheduled. At such

time, you will be required to provide the following:

• Two (2) front view, full face color photos (Passport style).

• A Bond issued to the State of Rhode Island, in the amount of $10,000, signed and witnessed prior to

submission to the Department.

• A check or money order in the amount of $400.00, made payable to the “RI General Treasurer”.

Should you have any questions regarding this process, you may contact:  
Lee-Ann Desilets by email at leeann.desilets@dbr.ri.gov or at (401) 462-9544.  
Kimberly Precious by email at kimberly.precious@dbr.ri.gov or at (401) 462-9650. 
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Division of Commercial Licensing 

CERTIFIED CONSTABLE RENEWAL APPLICATION 

REQUIREMENTS (Incomplete submissions will be returned) 
• Current Rhode Island Criminal History Record (CHR)
• Proof of ten (10) hours of approved continuing education within prior 24 months
• Proof of bond continuation OR a new bond in the amount of $10,000.
• $ 400.00 check or money order made payable to the “RI General Treasurer”

CONSTABLE CONTACT INFORMATION 
Name: License No.: 

Residential Address: 

City: State: Zip Code: 

Mailing Address: (if different from residence) 

City: State: Zip Code: 

Phone Number: Email Address: (Mandatory) 

Is it acceptable for the DBR to make available to the public the phone number and email listed above?      Yes        No 

Have you been arrested or convicted of any crime since your first appointment?         Yes        No 

AFFIDAVIT & SIGNATURE 
Tax Payer Status Affidavit 
Pursuant to R.I. Gen. Laws, Chapter 5-79, as amended, any person applying for or renewing any license, permit, or other 
authority to conduct a business or occupation within Rhode Island must have filed all required state tax returns and paid 
all taxes due to the state, or must have entered into a written agreement to pay delinquent state taxes that is satisfactory to 
the Tax Administrator.  
Have you filed all required Rhode Island State tax returns, and have you paid all taxes owed?       Yes        No 

Renewal Affirmation 
I solemnly swear that I will continue to support the constitution of the United States and the constitution and laws of this 
state and will faithfully and impartially discharge and perform all the duties incumbent on me as a Certified Constable of 
the State of Rhode Island according to the best of my abilities. 
I certify under penalty of perjury, that all information provided in this application is true and accurate. 

   __________________________________________________        ________________________________________________ 
   Signature of Constable  Date of Signature (MM/DD/YY) 

OFFICE USE ONLY 

Date application received: 

Bond: 

CHR: 

CE Certificates (10) hours: 

State of Rhode Island 
DEPARTMENT OF BUSINESS REGULATION 

1511 Pontiac Avenue, Bldg. 69-1 
Cranston, Rhode Island  02920 

http://www.dbr.ri.gov/
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