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State of Rhode Island 
 DEPARTMENT OF BUSINESS REGULATION 

Division of Commercial Licensing 
1511 Pontiac Avenue, Bldg. 69-1 
Cranston, Rhode Island 02920 

INITIAL UPHOLSTERY AND STERILIZATION 
INSTRUCTIONS AND APPLICATION 

Applicants are strongly encouraged to apply online at: https://elicensing.ri.gov/ 

Complete the application and return with the following required attachments. 

Incomplete applications will be returned. 

• LICENSE FEE — Check or Money Order in U.S. Dollars and drawn on a
U.S. bank made payable to “Rhode Island General Treasurer”

o Manufacturer -- $630 Valid for three (3) years
o Supply Dealer -- $630 Valid for three (3) years
o Second-Hand -- $180 Valid for three (3) years
o Renovator/Repairer -- $180 Valid for three (3) years
o Sterilization Permit -- $84 Valid for one (1) year

• UNIFORM REGISTRY NUMBER Copy of valid license from the state you received
your Uniform Registry Number (URN) 

• OTHER REQUIREMENTS

Manufacturer/Supply Dealer 
• Law label per R.I. Gen. Law § 23-26-20

o If materials require sterilization you must also apply for a sterilization permit

Second-Hand Bedding & Upholstered Furniture 
• Second-Hand law label per R.I. Gen. Laws § 23-26-17 and 23-26-20

o Must also apply for a Sterilization Permit

Renovator/Repair – Consumer or Direct Sale from Licensee
• Renovator/Repairer law label per R.I. Gen. Law § 23-26-14

o If materials require sterilization you must also apply for a sterilization permit

Sterilization Permit: R.I. Gen. Laws §§ 23-26-7 & 23-26-7.1:
• Sterilization label/tags and copy of Sterilization Permit from original state issuing permit
• Name of Sterilization Method Used and Copy of the Product information label

o Product must be registered as a consumer and health benefit product and labeled for
use on bedding and upholstered furniture by the EPA

http://www.dbr.ri.gov/
https://elicensing.ri.gov/
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State of Rhode Island 
 DEPARTMENT OF BUSINESS REGULATION 

Division of Commercial Licensing 
1511 Pontiac Avenue, Bldg. 69-1 
Cranston, Rhode Island 02920 

INITIAL UPHOLSTERY APPLICATION 
Please type.  Incomplete applications will be returned. 

LICENSE TYPE 
(check all that apply) 

□ Manufacturer    □ Supply Dealer     □ Renovator/Repairer    □ Second-Hand    □ Sterilizer Permit

BUSINESS/PLANT INFORMATION 
Name:     FEIN: 
DBA (If applicable): 
Address: 
City, State, Zip: 
Mailing Address (if different from above): 
Email: Phone: 
Type of product: 
List all materials used: 

REGISTRATION SERVICE/IMPORTER INFORMATION 
(if applying on behalf of manufacturer) 

Registration Service Name:    
Registration Service Address: 
Registration Service City, State, Zip: 
Registration Service Email: Phone: 
Will all correspondence be sent to the Registration Service? □ Yes       □ No
Is this a joint registry? □ Yes       □ No
Importer Name:     
Importer Address: 
Importer City, State, Zip: 
Importer Email: Phone: 
Will all correspondence be sent to the Importer? □ Yes       □ No

UNIFORM REGISTRY NUMBER INFORMATION 
Do you have an URN? □ Yes       □ No
If yes, what is the URN on the Law Label? 
If no, are you requesting one from the State of Rhode Island?     □ Yes       □ No

STERILIZATION PERMIT INFORMATION 
Are the materials used sterilized? □ Yes       □ No
If yes, method/product used for sterilization:  
(Proof of sterilization materials and label must be attached) 

http://www.dbr.ri.gov/
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State of Rhode Island 
 DEPARTMENT OF BUSINESS REGULATION 

Division of Commercial Licensing 
1511 Pontiac Avenue, Bldg. 69-1 
Cranston, Rhode Island 02920 

INITIAL UPHOLSTERY APPLICATION — CONTINUED 
Please type.  Incomplete applications will be returned. 

AFFIDAVIT(S) & SIGNATURE 
Tax Payer Status Affidavit 
Pursuant to R.I. Gen. Laws, Chapter 5-79, as amended, any person applying for or renewing any license, permit, or other 
authority to conduct a business or occupation within Rhode Island must have filed all required state tax returns and paid all 
taxes due to the state or must have entered into a written agreement to pay delinquent state taxes that is satisfactory to the 
Tax Administrator. 

Have you filed all required Rhode Island State tax returns, and have you paid all taxes owed?        Yes        No 

Affidavit of Application 
I swear, under penalty of perjury that the information provided in connection with this application is true to the best of my 
knowledge, with the understanding that any omissions, inaccuracies or failure to make full disclosures may be deemed 
sufficient reason to deny licensure by the Rhode Island Department of Business Regulation. 

 _____________________________________________________        _____________________________________________________ 
   Signature of Applicant   Date of Signature (MM/DD/YY) 

OFFICE USE ONLY 
Date 

Date application received: 
Check #   Amount: 
URN License received: 
Law Label received: 
Sterilization Materials received: 

http://www.dbr.ri.gov/
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