
Lowering Premium Tax through Job Growth in Rhode Island 

(Filing Due: 4/1/2020) 

 

The Rhode Island General Assembly amended Section 44-17-1 of the General Laws entitled “Taxation of 
Insurance Companies” to provide a methodology by which Premium Tax could be reduced if “Qualifying 
Insurers” collectively create at least 350 new “qualifying jobs” in Rhode Island.  The reduced premium 
tax rate would apply to all companies writing business in Rhode Island.  This amendment could also 
provide retaliatory premium tax relief for insurance companies domiciled in RI.  This statute allows the 
Premium Tax to be reduced as low as 1% if sufficient job and Personal Income Tax growth were to occur. 

In order to gather the appropriate information to allow the Rhode Island Insurance Division and the 
Rhode Island Department of Revenue to accurately calculate the qualifying jobs growth in Rhode Island, 
all qualifying insurers are required to complete the attached Excel spreadsheet and submit it 
electronically to: DBR.PremiumJobs@dbr.ri.gov.   

A “Qualifying Insurer” is any domestic, foreign, or alien insurance company, mutual association, 
organization, or other insurer, but excludes: Health Maintenance Organizations (as defined in § 27-41-
2); Nonprofit Dental Service Corporations (as defined in § 27-20.1-2); and Nonprofit Hospital or Medical 
Service Corporations (as defined in §§ 27-19-1 and 27-20-1). 

A “Qualifying Employee” is any employee that was issued a Rhode Island W-2 with total annual wages 
equal to or greater than forty percent (40%) of the prior year’s average annual wages for the Rhode 
Island insurance industry, as published by the Rhode Island Department of Labor and Training in the 
Annual Employment and Wage Tables (http://www.dlt.ri.gov/lmi/es202/state.htm) under NAICS code 
5241.  Forty percent (40%) of the average annual wages for calendar year 2018 is $36,961.60.  Any 
employee that was issued a Rhode Island W-2 and earned at least $36,961.60 in calendar year 2019 is a 
qualifying employee. 

Spreadsheet Instructions: 

The attached worksheet should be completed once per holding company, and ensuring that all 
entities within the group that are required to file are included on the worksheet.  

Column 1: Enter the NAIC Company Code (if applicable) for each company listed in Column 2. 

Column 2: Enter the name of the Company that is licensed or approved in Rhode Island, including its 
subsidiaries, affiliates, and any service companies within the holding company structure that have 
Rhode Island employees.  Rhode Island employees that are actually employed by another entity within 
the holding company system are also considered qualifying employees as long as they meet the 
definition provided above. 

Column 3: Enter the Federal Employers Identification Number (FEIN) for each entity within the holding 
company system that employs Rhode Island employees.  This information will be used by the Rhode 
Island Department of Revenue to verify the W-2 information for the Rhode Island employees. 
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Column 4: Enter the total Personal Income Tax (PIT) withholdings for all W-2 employees in the state of 
RI for calendar year 2019.  This amount should reconcile to the amount reported on Form RI W-3 for 
2019. 

Column 5: Enter the total number of employees that were issued a W-2 for wages earned in RI for 
calendar year 2019.  This amount should equal the total number of RI W-2s that were filed with the RI 
Division of Revenue for 2019. 

Column 6: Enter the total number of “Qualifying Employees”, as defined above, for calendar year 2019. 

Column 7: Enter the total Personal Income Tax withholdings for all “Qualifying Employees” for calendar 
year 2019. 

 

Should you have any questions, please e-mail Petr Petrik at: petr.petrik@dbr.ri.gov. 
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2018 Premium Jobs Growth Worksheet  

Frequently Asked Questions 

 

Q: Which entities should be included on the worksheet? 
 

A: Include any entities licensed or approved in RI, even if filing ‘NONE’, and include any entities reporting RI 
employees/withholding (including service companies and insurance-related subsidiaries). 
 
Therefore, it is preferable to complete this form once at the holding company level (if applicable). 

 

Q: If my organization does not have any employees in RI, do I still need to file this worksheet? 
A: Yes.  The Division requires ‘NONE’ filings in order to distinguish between organizations without employees 

to report and organizations that may be unaware of the filing requirement. 
 

Q: My organization has no employees in RI and/or has no plans to add more employees in RI.  Why do we 
need to complete this form, and how would this program benefit us? 

A: The premium tax reduction would be based on the aggregate number of qualifying insurance jobs created 
in RI.  Therefore, your taxes on premiums written in RI could be reduced, even if your company has no RI 
employees.  However, your participation is needed to accurately measure our employment base. 

 

Q: Does my organization need to file if it is: 
• A Fraternal Benefit Society? 
• In runoff, or otherwise has zero premiums written in RI? 
• A captive? 
• A Registered Risk-Retention Group? 
• An Approved/Accredited Reinsurer? 
• A Registered Surplus Lines Insurer? 

A:  Yes. 
 

Q: Which taxes should be included in the reported withholding amounts (e.g. state income, federal income, 
payroll)? 

Q: My organization has employees who live in RI, but work out of state and voluntarily withhold RI taxes.  
Should I include these employees and W-2 withholdings? 

A: The columns for “All Employees” should match the RI Personal Income Tax withholding amounts and 
number of W-2s reported on the RI W-3 filed with the RI Division of Taxation.  Employees who do not work 
in RI but have RI withholding would be included under “All Employees”, but excluded under “qualifying 
employees”. 
Refer to Exhibit A. 

 

Q: Is the Filing spreadsheet required if I am only submitting a ‘NONE’ filing? 
A: No -- if you prefer, you may send an email listing the RI-licensed/registered entity or entities (including 

NAIC CoCodes) for which you are filing ‘NONE’, and including language to this effect. 



Exhibit A:

 

Column 4 

Columns 5 


