State of Rhode Island and Providence Plantations
DEPARTMENT OF BUSINESS REGULATION
1511 Pontiac Avenue, Bldg. 69-2
Cranston, Rhode Island 02920

Insurance Division

INSURANCE PRODUCER LICENSING INSTRUCTIONS

**Please note that Rhode Island no longer mails “hard copy” licenses. To print a license please access
the following link: http://www.statebasedsystems.com/LicensePrint.htm **

RHODE ISLAND RESIDENT INDIVIDUAL CHECKLIST

= Complete online application at www.nipr.com

= A copy of the original passed exam results (exam results are valid for a period of one
year)

= A copy of the background report from the Rhode Island Attorney General’s office
(background reports are valid for a period of thirty days)

= $120.00 license fee payable online by credit card at the time of application on

WWW.nipr.com

NON-RESIDENT INDIVIDUAL CHECKLIST

= Complete online application at www.nipr.com
= $130.00 license fee payable online by credit card at the time of application on

WWW.nipr.com

AMENDMENT OF A LICENSE

= Complete online application at www.nipr.com
»  $50.00 amendment fee payable online by credit card at the time of application on

WWW.Nipr.com

**Please note that effective July 1, 2007 the State of Rhode Island no longer requires business entities to
be licensed however pursuant to Rl Gen Laws 827-2.4-12 all individuals who are conducting Rhode
Island business on behalf of a business entity must include that business entity name as an “assumed
name” on their individual Rhode Island license.

PRELICENSING

Effective January 1, 2012 Rhode Island has eliminated the mandatory pre-licensing requirement.

Tel: 401-462-9520 Fax: 401-462-9602 TDD: 711 Web Site: www.dbr.ri.gov


http://www.statebasedsystems.com/LicensePrint.htm
http://www.nipr.com/
http://www.nipr.com/
http://www.nipr.com/
http://www.nipr.com/
http://www.nipr.com/
http://www.nipr.com/

EXAM

To schedule an exam please contact Pearson Vue by telephone at 1-800-274-3739 or visit their website at
WWW.[pearsonvue.com

Tel: 401-462-9520

CONTINUING EDUCATION REQUIREMENTS

Rhode Island residents must complete twenty-four (24) accumulated credit hours including a
minimum of three (3) hours in ethics for each biennial license period.
Non-residents must comply with the continuing education requirements of their resident state.

EXEMPTIONS TO CONTINUING EDUCATION

Residents holding licenses to sell any kind and/or kinds of insurance for which an exam is not
required.

Residents holding a limited line credit license or a license which is otherwise exempted by
the Department.

Residents holding a license continuously (without lapse) for twenty-five (25) years and who
are fifty-five (55) years of age at the time of renewal.

Residents who were licensed for twenty (20) years and were 60 years of age as of July 3,
2004.

BACKGROUND REPORTS FOR RHODE ISLAND RESIDENTS ONLY

Applicants must provide a background (BCI) report from the Rhode Island Attorney
General’s office. The Attorney General’s office can be contacted at 401-274-4400 for further
information.

ERROR AND OMISSIONS FOR RESIDENTS

Rhode Island residents are required to carry and maintain errors and omissions insurance
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