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Office of Cannabis Regulation
Department of Business Regulation

1511 Pontiac Ave. Bldg. 68-1 
Cranston, RI 02920 

Cardholder Registration Application for Key Persons, 
Interest Holders, and Staff of Medical Marijuana 

Establishment Licensees, Industrial Hemp Licensees, 
And Testing Laboratories 

• Medical Marijuana Program requirements for licensure and registration of
cardholders are established by the Edward O. Hawkins and Thomas C. Slater
Medical Marijuana Act, R.I. Gen. Laws Chapter 21-28.6, and the Rules and
Regulations Related to the Medical Marijuana Program Administered by the
Office of Cannabis Regulation at the Department of Business Regulation, 230-
RICR-80-05-1.

• Industrial Hemp Program requirements for licensure and registration of
cardholders are established by the Industrial Hemp Growth Act, R.I. Gen. Laws
Chapter 2-26, and the Department’s regulations entitled, “Rhode Island Industrial
Hemp Agricultural Pilot Program,” 230-RICR-80-10-1.

• More information and links to applicable laws are available here:
https://dbr.ri.gov/divisions/medicalmarijuana/.

• Should you have any questions regarding the cardholder registration
requirements or the completion of the application form, contact the Office of
Cannabis Regulation at the Department of Business Regulation, (401) 462-9500,
or email at:

• DBR.mmpcompliance@dbr.ri.gov for Medical Marijuana Program Questions, or

• DBR.HempCompliance@dbr.ri.gov for Industrial Hemp Program Questions.

https://dbr.ri.gov/divisions/medicalmarijuana/
mailto:DBR.mmpcompliance@dbr.ri.gov
mailto:DBR.HempCompliance@dbr.ri.gov
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Application Instructions 
1. Complete all application materials as instructed. Please answer all questions.

Incomplete questions or incomplete applications will not be processed. Please mark
"NA" on questions that are Not Applicable.

2. Do not detach any full pages from this form.

3. Sign the application and return it with the required documentation described herein
and a check or money order payable to the General Treasurer, State of Rhode
Island.

4. Do not submit the application without all applicable information, documentation and
fee(s).

5. Mail or deliver the completed application to:

RI Department of Business Regulation 
Office of Cannabis Regulation 
1511 Pontiac Ave. Bldg. 68-1 

Cranston, RI 02920 

Required Documentation 
1. Completed Application: Completed and signed Application for each officer, director,

manager/member, agent, employee or volunteer.
(Note volunteers are only permitted at Compassion Centers).

2. Copy of ID: Proof that each officer, director, manager/member, employee, agent or
volunteer is at least twenty-one (21) years old. (Proof must be in the form of a copy of a
Rhode Island or other Government issued photo ID such as a Driver’s License, Passport or
State ID.)

3. Fee: A non-returnable, non-refundable application fee made payable to General Treasurer,
State of Rhode Island in the amount in the below amount for each officer, director,
manager/member, agent, employee, or volunteer.

Medical Marijuana Compassion Center or Cultivator: $100.00
Industrial Hemp Program: $50.00
Testing Laboratories: $100.00

4. National Criminal Background Check*: All owners, members, officers, directors,
managers and agents of marijuana establishment licensees, industrial hemp licensees, or
Testing Laboratories, shall apply for a national criminal background identification records
check that shall include fingerprints submitted to the Federal Bureau of Investigation.
*Employees and volunteers are not required to get background checks.

To obtain a National Criminal Background Check report, please contact: 
• The Rhode Island State Police at (401) 444-1110 and schedule an appointment; or
• The Rhode Island Attorney General’s Office, BCI Division, 4 Howard Ave, Cranston, RI

02920, (401) 274-4400. (On the Pontiac Avenue side of the Pastore Complex.)
http://www.riag.ri.gov/BCI/index.php#

http://www.riag.ri.gov/BCI/index.php
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Cardholder Registration Application Form 
Initial Application: ☐ or Renewal Application: ☐

For (select one): ☐ Medical Marijuana Licensed Compassion Center 

☐ Medical Marijuana Licensed Cultivator

☐ Testing Lab

☐ Industrial Hemp

Name of Licensed Facility: 

Select position of Applicant: 
☐Officer ☐Director ☐Manager ☐Member ☐Employee ☐Agent

☐Volunteer (compassion centers only)

Full Name of 
Applicant 

   First       Middle      Last
Date of Birth 

    MM / DD / YYYY 
Mailing 
Address 

   Street Address (Street and Number)    Apt/Suite

    City/ Town         State      Zip Code 
Contact  
Information 

 Phone Number     Email 

Licensee Information 
Please list the name and title of the principal officer or authorized designee of the Medical Marijuana 
Establishment Licensee, Industrial Hemp Licensee or Testing Laboratory who can be contacted to confirm 
the affiliation of the applicant.   

Name of Marijuana Establishment Licensee, Industrial Hemp Licensee, Or Testing Lab 

      Principal Officer/ Designee First Name   Principal Officer/ Designee Last Name     Principal Officer / Designee Title 

Email address of Principal Officer or Authorized Designee 
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For Office Use Only 

Date Entered __________________       Name of DBR Staff Member ____________________________ 

Applicant  
Declaration By signing this application, I, the applicant named above, hereby declare and verify 

under the penalty of perjury that to the best of my knowledge all statements in this 
application are complete, true, correct and accurate.   

   Printed Name of Applicant 

   Signature of Applicant     Date Signed 

Check Info ☐ Compassion Center or Cultivator $100.00
☐ Industrial Hemp Grower/ Handler/ Dual $50.00

Check Number ☐ Testing Laboratory $100.00 
(Check number is required 
for payment verification)    Select One 

Date of Most 
Recent BCI   

    “Employees” are Exempt from this Requirement 
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