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RHODE ISLAND NON-RESIDENT INSTRUCTIONS AND APPLICATION  
FOR-CONTINUING EDUCATION COURSE RECIPROCAL APPROVAL 

 
In order to obtain course approval on reciprocal basis, providers who have a home state (or 
course approval home state) other than Rhode Island, Massachusetts, and Florida, should 
submit the following via their SBS provider account:  

  
 Login to provider account   

https://sbs.naic.org/solar-web/pages/public/stateServices.jsf?state=RI 
 

 Required attachments: Copy of the home state’s course approval, the completed 
NAIC Uniform Continuing Education Reciprocity Course Filing Form (CER), 
and the course outline. Courses submitted prior to obtaining a Home State 
Approval will be rejected. 
 

 The fee is $60 for each course submitted and payment is made through SBS at 
the time of submission. 
 

 Note:  You will be given the same number of credits as granted in your home 
state.  Please do not submit the course for a different credit amount. 

 
*** Courses submitted without the above requirements will be rejected *** 

 
NEW IN 2018 
**If you are requesting that a course be certified for Long Term Care or Annuity Suitability compliance 
training, please be sure to choose the applicable Course Group at the time of application.** 

 
References: 
Insurance Bulletin 2011-2 - Annuity and Long Term Care Producer Training 
RIGL 27-34.2-21- Long Term Care one-time 8 hour LTC care course required prior to sale of 
LTC policy and 4 hour LTC ongoing biennial training requirement 
RI Administrative Code 230-RICR-20-25-1 – Annuity Suitability 
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  UNIFORM CONTINUING EDUCATION RECIPROCITY COURSE FILING FORM 
Please clearly print or type information on this form.  Thank you for helping us promptly process your application.  

Provider Information 
Provider Name                                                                                                                        FEIN # (if applicable) 
 
 
Contact Person 
 
 

E-mail Address of Contact Person 

Phone Number 
 
(         )          -              ext. 

Fax Number 
 
(         )            -         

Home State Home State 
Provider # 

Reciprocal 
State 

Reciprocal 
State Provider # 

Mailing Address 
 
 

City State Zip 

Course Information 
Course Title 
 
 
Date of Course Offering (if applicable) 

 
Method of Instruction 

 
National Course 

Self – Study (non-contact) 

□  Correspondence 

□ On-Line Training (Self-Study) 

□ Video/Audio/CD/DVD 
 
Word Count __________________ 
 
Difficulty (Circle)     
Basic         Intermediate        Advanced 

Classroom (contact) 

□ Seminar/Workshop 

□ Webinar 

□ Teleconference 

□ Other _______________________ 
 

 
 
National Insurance Designation? 

□ Yes            □ No 
Designation Type:    
 
__________________________________ 
Is this Course Open to the Public? 
 

        □ Yes      □ No 
Examination Required?                            □ Yes      □ No 

Credit Hours Requested and Course/Hours Decision 
Course Concentration Hrs. Requested by 

Provider 
Sales/Mktg    Insurance 

Hrs. Approved by Home 
State 

Sales/Mktg     Insurance 

Hrs. Approved by 
Reciprocal State 

Sales /Mktg    
Insurance  

A. Insurance Topics:     
 (Circle Appropriate Course 
Concentration) 

      

Life / Health       
Property / Casualty/Personal Lines       
Ethics       
General (Applies to all lines)       
Insurance Laws       
Other (LTC, NFIP, Viatical, Annuities, 
_________) 

      

Total Hours       
B. Adjuster Topics (Total Hours)       

Information Below is for Regulator Use Only 
Approval Date    
Course Number assigned     
Course approval expiration date    
Signature of Home State Regulator/Representative OR 
ATTACH Provider Home State Approval Form 

   

Signature of Reciprocal State Regulator/Representative 
OR  ATTACH Reciprocal State Approval Form 

   



See State Matrix for Instruction Sheet and State Specific Fee Schedule 
 

 
INSTRUCTION SHEET 

NOTE:  This course may NOT be advertised or offered as approved in the state to which application has been made 
until approval has been received from the Insurance Department.     

 
1. If you are a PROVIDER filing for approval from the Home State:  

1.1 Complete all the fields in the “Provider Information” section except “Reciprocal State” and the adjacent 
“Provider #” fields.  

 1.2 Complete the Course Information Section.  
 1.3         In the “Credit Hours Requested and Course/Hours Decision” section, complete the “Hrs. Requested by         

Provider” columns, detailing in the respective columns the number of hours for sales – and marketing-related 
instruction and the number of hours for other insurance-related instruction.  Please note the following:  

 
1.3.1 When using this application, which is governed by the NAIC CE Reciprocity Agreement in 
conjunction with ‘states’ laws, only whole numbers of credit hours will be approved – partial hours will be 
eliminated.  

 
1.3.2 States that approve sales/marketing topics will consider the hours in the “sales/Mktg” column and 
the hours in the “Insurance” column when deciding the number of hours to approve.  States that do not 
permit sales/marketing topics as part of continuing education credit hours will only consider the hours 
shown in the “Insurance” column when making their credit-hour approval decisions.  

 
1.3.3 Contact the individual state to determine whether there are any specific requirements for submitting 
insurance adjuster courses.  
 

1.4 Submit the application form along with required course materials, a detailed course outline, instructor 
information, if required, and the required course application fee.  Refer to website below for instructor information  
(www.naic.org/documents/urtt_cer_CE_Matrix.xls). 

2. If you are a PROVIDER filing for approval from a Reciprocal State:  
2.1 Make a sufficient number of photocopies of the Home State approval form to enable you to submit a copy 
of this application to each of the Reciprocal States where you are seeking credit.  
2.2 On each application, write the Reciprocal State and the provider number assigned to you by that state in the 
“Reciprocal State” and adjacent “Provider #” fields.  
2.3 Send the CER application, home state approval, if home state issues one, a detailed course outline, and the 
required fee to the reciprocal state.  If this is a National Course *, the Providers will be allowed to submit an agenda 
which must include date, time, each topic and event location in lieu of a detailed course outline.    
2.4 Subsequent national course offerings should only be reported for events that are conducted in the “home” 
state.   

* National Course is defined as an approved program of instruction in insurance related topics, offered by an approved 
provider, and leads to a national professional designation or is a course offered to individuals who must update their 
designation once it is earned.    
 
3. If you are a HOME STATE or the designated Representative of the Home State:  
 3.1 After reviewing the course materials, complete the “Hrs. Approved by Home State” column.  
 3.2 Enter the date of approval, course # assigned, course approval expiration date.  Sign the CER Form OR 

attach the home state approval form.   
 3.3 If the class is not approved, note it on the bottom of the CER Form.   
 
4. If you are the RECIPROCAL STATE or designated representative of the Reciprocal State:  
 4.1 After reviewing “Hrs. approved by Home State” complete the “Hrs. Approved by Reciprocal State”.  
 4.2 Enter the date of approval, course number assigned, course approval expiration date.  Sign the CER Form 

OR attach the reciprocal state approval form.  
 4.3 If the class is not approved, note it on the bottom of the CER Form. 
 


