3/29/22, 10:51 AM



VIA- Certified Mail

March 29, 2022

James Ballou Sr

Registration/License Number: Claim Associated with Violation: C-C-10748 - Private Right of Action Issued by JA 1/24/2022

RE: FINAL ORDER -Disciplinary Action- Violation # V-6342

On or about January 26, 2022, you were provided with notice that the Rhode Island Contractors' Registration and Licensing Board determined that you were in violation of the following section(s) of Rhode Island General Law and intended to assess civil penalties as proposed

Violation

5-65-3(a) - Bid to do work or arrange work without a valid registration

Violation Penalty

1,000

Description Contractor Bid or Arranged to do work without a Valid Registration

Violation

5-65-3(o) - Failure to have written contract when work performed is in excess of \$1,000.00

Violation Penalty

1,000

Description

Respondent entered in an agreement to perform work at 1696 E. Wallum Lake Rd Pascoag, RI 02859 on or about 6/2/2021. The agreed upon value of the work was \$2750.00. Upon request, Respondent stated that there was no written contract and Upon request, no written contract was produced. It was stated that this was an Oral Contract.

Rhode Island Department of Business Regulation

Contractors' Registration and Licensing Board

560 Jefferson Blvd. Ste. 200, Warwick, Rhode Island 02886 Telephone: (401) 921-1590 Fax: (401) 889-5535 3/29/22, 10:51 AM Violation Penalty 1,000

Description

Respondent entered into a contract with Melanie Bagaglio on or about 6/2/2021 for:

the purchase of new kitchen counter top

replacement front picture window

3 days of labor at \$250/day

On or about January 22, 2022 the homeowner filed a complaint with the CRLB alleging, in pertinent part, that the Respondent had breached the contract. The investigation showed that the Respondent breached the contract as follows:

James Ballou Sr was given \$2750 for purchase of new kitchen counter top, replacement front picture window, and 3 days of labor at \$250/day in advance. The work had not been completed and I have not received a new countertop or front picture window.

Violation

5-65-18 - Failure to provide mechanic's lien notice

Violation Penalty

1,000

Description

Contracts for work require notice that the contractor provide the consumer with a notice that the contractor may file a lien in accordance with the Mechanic' Lien Law, as found in R.I. Gen. Law 34-28. As there was no written contract, the required notice was not provided to the consumer

Fine amount: \$4,000

Because you did not request a hearing within the time allowed, the Proposed Order has converted to a Final Order. The fines, as listed above, are now due and payable. If payment is not received within twenty (20) days, your case may be referred to the Office of the Attorney General for criminal prosecution pursuant to RIGL § 5-65-19.

Alternatively, you may appeal this Final Order in writing, within twenty (20) days of the date of this mailing to the Contractors' Registration and Licensing Board. For additional information, please see our website at www.crb.ri.gov, or contact us by telephone at (401) 921-1590.

Sincerely,