

**Rhode Island Department of Business Regulation** 

**Contractors' Registration and Licensing Board** 

560 Jefferson Blvd. Ste. 100, Warwick, Rhode Island 02886

Telephone: (401) 921-1590 Fax: (401) 889-5535

VIA- Certified Mail

May 23, 2022

LIMA'S HOME IMPROVEMENTS Brian Lima

Registration/License Number: GC-36403 Claim Associated with Violation: C-C-10843

## RE: FINAL ORDER AND SUSPENSION OF REGISTRATION Disciplinary Action - Violation # V-6480

On or about May 2, 2022, you were provided with a Notice of Violation/Proposed Order, a copy of which is attached and incorporated as if stated again in full, that the Rhode Island Contractors' Registration and Licensing Board determined that you were in violation of Rhode Island General Laws and intended to assess civil penalties.

Because you did not request a hearing or pay the fines as assessed within the time allowed, the Notice of Violation/Proposed Order has converted to a Final Order. The fines, as listed above, are now due and payable. If payment is not received within twenty (20) days, your registration will be suspended and your case may be referred to the Office of the Attorney General for criminal prosecution pursuant to RIGL § 5-65-19 and/or referred to the Central Collections Unit pursuant to RIGL § 42-142-8.

You have the right to appeal this Final Order by completing the attached form and returning to the CRLB within twenty (20) days of the date of this mailing. For additional information, please see our website at www.crb.ri.gov, or contact us by telephone at (401) 921-1590.

Sincerely,



**Rhode Island Department of Business Regulation** 

**Contractors' Registration and Licensing Board** 

560 Jefferson Blvd. Ste. 100, Warwick, Rhode Island 02886

VIA- Certified Mail

# LIMA'S HOME IMPROVEMENTS Brian Lima

Registration/License Number: GC-36403 Claim Associated with Violation: C-C-10843

## RE: NOTICE OF INTENT TO ASSESS CIVIL PENALTY AND OPPORTUNITY FOR HEARING – PROPOSED ORDER Disciplinary Action - Violation # V-6480

This letter serves to notify you that the Rhode Island Contractors' Registration and Licensing Board(CRLB) has determined that on or about April 21, 2022, at 617 Williams Crossing Road, Coventry, RI 02816 violations of the following section(s) of Rhode Island General Laws were discovered and the CRLB intends to assess civil penalties as proposed.

Violation

5-65-3(m) - Failure to secure permits prior to commencing work

Violation Penalty

4,000

#### Description

On October 20, 2021, the respondent entered into a Contract at 617 Williams Crossing Road, Coventry, for building a Garage to be attached to an existing free standing Garage Structure. This work is of the type which requires that a building/electrical/plumbing/mechanical permit (s) be taken out prior to commencing work. Upon request, the respondent could not produce the required permit and a check of the Coventry Permitting database shows that a permit was not issued prior to the start of the project.

The Permit was issued January 10, 2022 and had been issued by Coventry, approximately 1 month after the work began, at the bequest of the Homeowner(s) due diligence.

#### Violation

5-65-3(o) - Failure to have written contract when work performed is in excess of \$1,000.00

#### **Violation Penalty**

1,000

#### Description

Respondent entered in an agreement to perform work at 617 Williams Crossing Road, Coventry on or about 10/20/2021. The agreed upon value of the work was \$38,500.00. Upon request, Respondent stated that there was no written contract and Upon request, no written contract was produced.

#### Violation

5-65-18 - Failure to provide mechanic's lien notice

Violation Penalty 1,000

Description

Contracts for work require notice that the contractor provide the consumer with a notice that the contractor may file a lien in accordance with the Mechanic' Lien Law, as found in R.I. Gen. Law 34-28. As there was no written contract, the required notice was not provided to the consumer.

#### Violation

5-65-7(b) - Failure to have workers compensation insurance as required by R.I Gen. Law 28-29

Violation Penalty

1,000

Description

Workers observed performing (framing, roofing, mason, etc.) work. Workers were determined to be employees of Respondent. Respondent is an employer subject to the Workers' Compensation Act and no exceptions apply. A check of the registration database showed that the Respondent did not maintain the required Workers Compensation Insurance.

Respondent is Registered with the CRLB and shows as having no Employees and No Workers Comp Insurance.

## Fine amount: \$7,000

You have the right to a hearing. You must request a hearing in writing, to the Contractors' Registration Board, 560 Jefferson Blvd, Warwick, RI 02886 within twenty (20) days of the date of this mailing or issuance of the Notice of Intent to Assess Civil Penalty. Failure to apply for, or to attend a scheduled hearing, will result in the issuance of a Final Order.

For additional information, please see our website at www.crb.ri.gov, or contact us by telephone at: (401) 921-1590.

Sincerely,



# Rhode Island Department of Business Regulation Division of Building, Design& Fire Professionals STATE BUILDING OFFICE

# **REQUEST FOR APPEAL**

Please type or print legibly. Incomplete or unreadable applications will be returned. Please allow 7-10 business days for processing

# THIS FORM MUST BE RECEIVED BY THE BOARD WITHIN TWENTY (20) DAYS OF THE NOTICE OF VIOLATION OR DECISION OF HEARING OFFICER

TYPE OF REQUEST			
HEARING OFFICER			
APPEAL OF DECISION OF HEARING OFFICER TO FULL BOARD			
APPLICANT INFORMATION			
Violation/File Num	ber:		
Claim Number:			
Registration/License #			
State:	Zip Code:		
	HEARING OFFICER         FICER TO FULL BOARD         APPLICANT INFORMATION         Violation/File Num         Claim Number:         Registration/Licens		

BRIEFLY DESCRIBE REASON FOR APPEAL		
Phone Number:	Cell Phone:	Email:
City:	State:	Zip Code:
Mailing Address (if different):		- -

## STANDARD OF REVIEW AND PROCEDURE FOR APPEAL OF NOTICE OF VIOLATION/PROPOSED ORDER

At hearing, the CRLB must prove the alleged violation(s) by a preponderance of the evidence. If proven, the Hearing Office will issue a Decision/Final Order. Decisions/Final Orders may be appealed to the Board as indicated below.

## STANADRO OF REVIEW AND PROCEUDRE FOR APPEAL OF DECISION OF HEARING OFFICER

In accordance with § 1.13.2 of CRLB regulation 440-RICR-10-00-1,

- a. The Board shall only consider evidence presented to the Hearing Officer, issues raised in the appeal, and written and/or oral argument relative to the Decision/Final Order issued by the Hearing Officer.
- b. The Board may limit the time allowed for oral argument.
- c. The Board will not consider any new or additional evidence not already presented below to the Hearing Officer.
- d. The CRLB staff investigator may report on their investigative findings.

Consistent with §§ 5-65-20, 440-RICR-10-00-1.13.2, and the Administrative Procedures Act § 42-35-1 et seq., the Board will affirm the Hearing Officer's Decision if it is supported by substantial evidence in the record. The Board will not substitute its judgment for that of the Hearing Officer as to the weight of the evidence on questions of fact. Alternatively, the Board may dismiss or modify the Hearing Officer's decision if it was arbitrary or capricious, or affected by other error of law. The Board may remand the case for further proceedings, if applicable.

It shall be the Appellant's sole responsibility, or that of his/her or its representative, to present his/her Appeal to the Board. The Appellant may be represented by legal counsel admitted in the State of Rhode Island. If Appellant fails to appear at the Hearing and has not otherwise notified the Board of his/her or its inability to attend, the Board shall dismiss the Appeal and affirm the Decision of the Hearing Officer.

The deadline for the Appellant to submit briefs and/or written arguments shall be fourteen (14) calendar days prior to the hearing. Oral arguments shall begin with the Party that filed the appeal. Time limits for oral arguments shall be limited to fifteen (15) minutes. A rebuttal time of three (3) minutes may be allowed. The Chair of the Board, or his/her designee, will oversee the proceedings.

AFFIRMATION

I swear, under the pains and penalties of perjury, that the information provided in connection with this Request for Appeal is true to the best of my knowledge, with the understanding that any omissions, inaccuracies, and/or failure to make full disclosures may be deemed sufficient reason to deny or revoke registration/licensure by the CRLB.:

 Signature
 Date

 Print
 SUBMISSION

 Submit this application to:
 RI Contractors' Registration and Licensing Board

 Attn: Matthew Lambert
 560 Jefferson Boulevard

 Warwick, RI 02886
 OR

 OR

 Email to Matthew Lambert@dbr.ri.gov