

Rhode Island Department of Business Regulation Contractors' Registration and Licensing Board 560 Jefferson Blvd. Ste. 100, Warwick, Rhode Island 02886 Telephone: (401) 921-1590 Fax: (401) 889-5535

VIA- USPS

May 5, 2022

CPK Design and Build Jason Oliver

Registration/License Number: Claim Associated with Violation: C-10557

> RE: FINAL ORDER AND SUSPENSION OF REGISTRATION Disciplinary Action - Violation # V-6458

On or about April 14, 2022, you were provided with a Notice of Violation/Proposed Order, a copy of which is attached and incorporated as if stated again in full, that the Rhode Island Contractors' Registration and Licensing Board determined that you were in violation of Rhode Island General Laws and intended to assess civil penalties.

Because you did not request a hearing or pay the fines as assessed within the time allowed, the Notice of Violation/Proposed Order has converted to a Final Order. The fines, as listed above, are now due and payable. If payment is not received within twenty (20) days, your registration will be suspended and your case may be referred to the Office of the Attorney General for criminal prosecution pursuant to RIGL § 5-65-19 and/or referred to the Central Collections Unit pursuant to RIGL § 42-142-8.

You have the right to appeal this Final Order by completing the attached form and returning to the CRLB within twenty (20) days of the date of this mailing. For additional information, please see our website at www.crb.ri.gov, or contact us by telephone at (401) 921-1590.

Sincerely,

ichard Suriani

Michael W. Suriani Senior Investigator Contractors' Registration & Licensing Board Division of Building, Design & Fire Professionals Department of Business Regulations <u>Michael.Suriani@dbr.ri.gov</u> Phone (401)-889-5480 Cell (401)-318-5582



Rhode Island Department of Business Regulation

Contractors' Registration and Licensing Board

560 Jefferson Blvd. Ste. 100, Warwick, Rhode Island 02886 Telephone: (401) 921-1590 Fax: (401) 889-5535

VIA- USPS

CPK Design and Build Jason Oliver

Registration/License Number: Claim Associated with Violation: C-10557

RE: NOTICE OF INTENT TO ASSESS CIVIL PENALTY AND OPPORTUNITY FOR HEARING – PROPOSED ORDER Disciplinary Action - Violation # V-6458

This letter serves to notify you that the Rhode Island Contractors' Registration and Licensing Board(CRLB) has determined that on or about February 1, 2022, at 40 Riverview Avenue, Westerly, RI 02891 violations of the following section(s) of Rhode Island General Laws were discovered and the CRLB intends to assess civil penalties as proposed.

Violation

5-65-10(a)(16) - Failure to pay a fine or comply with any order issued by the board.

Violation Penalty

1,000

Description

On or about 12/1/21 the CRLB issued Final Order directing the Respondent to;

The Respondent will reimburse the Complainant a total amount of \$4,149.98 in the form of certified checks or money orders with the following payment schedule;

1) \$1,000, due on or before December 15, 2021.

2) \$1,000, due on or before January 15, 2022.

3) \$1,000, due on or before February 15, 2022.

4) \$1,149.98, due on or before March 15, 2022.

Upon investigation it was determined the contractor failed to make any of the payments. Further discussion with the contractor revealed he did not.

Violation

5-65-22 - Failure to provide registration number on all advertising, contracts, and invoices.

Violation Penalty

1,000

Description

On or about 4/2/21, the Respondent provided to the customer a contract for construction.

This contract did not contain the respondents registration number.

Violation

5-65-3(a) - Bid to do work or arrange work without a valid registration

Violation Penalty

1,000

5/5/22, 8:54 AM

Description

On or about 4/2/21, the Respondent entered into a contract for construction. A review of the CRB data base revealed the contractor was not registered as required.

Violation

5-65-18 - Failure to provide mechanic's lien notice

Violation Penalty

1,000

Description

Contracts for work require notice that the contractor provide the consumer with a notice that the contractor may file a lien in accordance with the Mechanic' Lien Law, as found in R.I. Gen. Law 34-28. Upon review of the written contract, for 40 Riverview Ave westerly, the required notice was absent from the contract.

Fine amount: \$4,000

You have the right to a hearing. You must request a hearing in writing, to the Contractors' Registration Board, 560 Jefferson Blvd, Warwick, RI 02886 within twenty (20) days of the date of this mailing or issuance of the Notice of Intent to Assess Civil Penalty. Failure to apply for, or to attend a scheduled hearing, will result in the issuance of a Final Order.

For additional information, please see our website at www.crb.ri.gov, or contact us by telephone at: (401) 921-1590.

Sincerely,

Michael Suriani

Michael W. Suriani Senior Investigator Contractors' Registration & Licensing Board Division of Building, Design & Fire Professionals Department of Business Regulations <u>Michael.Suriani@dbr.ri.gov</u> Phone (401)-889-5480 Cell (401)-318-5582



Rhode Island Department of Business Regulation Division of Building, Design& Fire Professionals STATE BUILDING OFFICE

REQUEST FOR APPEAL

Please type or print legibly. Incomplete or unreadable applications will be returned. Please allow 7-10 business days for processing

THIS FORM MUST BE RECEIVED BY THE BOARD WITHIN TWENTY (20) DAYS OF THE NOTICE OF VIOLATION OR DECISION OF HEARING OFFICER

TYPE OF REQUEST					
APPEAL OF NOTICE OF VIOLATION TO HEARING OFFICER					
APPEAL OF DECISION OF HEARING OFFICER TO FULL BOARD					
APPLICANT INFORMATION					
Notice of Violation Date		Violation/File Number:		2	
Date of Decision/Final Order		Claim Number:			
Registration/License Type:		Registration/License #			
Name:					
Residential Address:					
City:	State:		Zip Code:		
Mailing Address (if different):					
City:	State:		Zip Code:		
Phone Number:	Cell Phone:	Cell Phone:		Email:	
BRIEFLY DESCRIBE REASON FOR APPEAL					

4/5

STANDARD OF REVIEW AND PROCEDURE FOR APPEAL OF NOTICE OF VIOLATION/PROPOSED ORDER

At hearing, the CRLB must prove the alleged violation(s) by a preponderance of the evidence. If proven, the Hearing Office will issue a Decision/Final Order. Decisions/Final Orders may be appealed to the Board as indicated below.

STANADRD OF REVIEW AND PROCEUDRE FOR APPEAL OF DECISION OF HEARING OFFICER

In accordance with § 1.13.2 of CRLB regulation 440-RICR-10-00-1,

- a. The Board shall only consider evidence presented to the Hearing Officer, issues raised in the appeal, and written and/or oral argument relative to the Decision/Final Order issued by the Hearing Officer.
- b. The Board may limit the time allowed for oral argument.
- c. The Board will not consider any new or additional evidence not already presented below to the Hearing Officer.
- d. The CRLB staff investigator may report on their investigative findings.

Consistent with §§ 5-65-20, 440-RICR-10-00-1.13.2, and the Administrative Procedures Act § 42-35-1 et seq., the Board will affirm the Hearing Officer's Decision if it is supported by substantial evidence in the record. The Board will not substitute its judgment for that of the Hearing Officer as to the weight of the evidence on questions of fact. Alternatively, the Board may dismiss or modify the Hearing Officer's decision if it was arbitrary or capricious, or affected by other error of law. The Board may remand the case for further proceedings, if applicable.

It shall be the Appellant's sole responsibility, or that of his/her or its representative, to present his/her Appeal to the Board. The Appellant may be represented by legal counsel admitted in the State of Rhode Island. If Appellant fails to appear at the Hearing and has not otherwise notified the Board of his/her or its inability to attend, the Board shall dismiss the Appeal and affirm the Decision of the Hearing Officer.

The deadline for the Appellant to submit briefs and/or written arguments shall be fourteen (14) calendar days prior to the hearing. Oral arguments shall begin with the Party that filed the appeal. Time limits for oral arguments shall be limited to fifteen (15) minutes. A rebuttal time of three (3) minutes may be allowed. The Chair of the Board, or his/her designee, will oversee the proceedings.

AFFIRMATION

I swear, under the pains and penalties of perjury, that the information provided in connection with this Request for Appeal is true to the best of my knowledge, with the understanding that any omissions, inaccuracies, and/or failure to make full disclosures may be deemed sufficient reason to deny or revoke registration/licensure by the CRLB.:

 Signature
 Date

 Print
 SUBMISSION

 Submit this application to:
 RI Contractors' Registration and Licensing Board

 Attn: Matthew Lambert
 560 Jefferson Boulevard

 Warwick, RI 02886
 OR

 Email to Matthew Lambert@dbr.ri.gov