

VIA- USPS

Telephone: (401) 921-15

# **Rhode Island Department of Business Regulation**

## Contractors' Registration and Licensing Board

560 Jefferson Blvd. Ste. 200, Warwick, Rhode Island 02886

Telephone: (401) 921-1590 Fax: (401) 889-5535

September 29, 2022

Salim Aboutaan

Registration/License Number:

Complain Associated with Violation: C-10997

RE: FINAL ORDER -Disciplinary Action- Violation # V-6697

On or about September 8, 2022, you were provided with notice that the Rhode Island Contractors' Registration and Licensing Board determined that you were in violation of the following section(s) of Rhode Island General Law and intended to assess civil penalties as proposed

## Violation

5-65-3(a) - Bid to do work or arrange work without a valid registration

## **Violation Penalty**

500

## Description

On or about 4/14/22 the contractor solicitated work for a construction project at 46 Rodger Williams Avenue EPRI. On or about 4/15/22 the contractor provided a contract for this work.

This work is of the type which requires registration with the CRLB.

A check of the CRLB Registration database showed that the respondent was not registered with the CRLB.

## Violation

5-65-22 - Failure to provide registration number on all advertising, contracts, and invoices.

## **Violation Penalty**

250

## Description

On or about 4/15/22 the Respondent provided to customer a proposal, for the replacement of a countertop. As the contractor was not registered, this proposal did not contain the respondents registration number.

10/4/22, 12:31 PM

## Violation

5-65-18 - Failure to provide mechanic's lien notice

## **Violation Penalty**

250

## Description

Contracts for work require notice that the contractor provide the consumer with a notice that the contractor may file a lien in accordance with the Mechanic' Lien Law, as found in R.I. Gen. Law 34-28. Upon review of the written contract, for 46 Roger Williams avenue EPRI, the required notice was absent from the contract.

#### Violation

5-65-3(p) - Failure to provide notice of right of rescission as stipulated in all pertinent Rhode Island consumer protection laws and/or § 5-65-27, if applicable. (Age 60 or older)

**Violation Penalty** 

250

## Description

Contracts for work require a right of rescission when the consumer is an elderly person as defined in R.I. Gen. Law §42-66-4.1 (60 years old). Here, the consumer was 72 at the time she signed the contract for work at 46 Roger Williams Avenue. Upon review of the written contract, the required right of rescission was absent from the contract.

Fine amount: \$1,250

Because you did not request a hearing within the time allowed, the Proposed Order has converted to a Final Order. The fines, as listed above, are now due and payable. If payment is not received within twenty (20) days, your case may be referred to the Office of the Attorney General for criminal prosecution pursuant to RIGL § 5-65-19.

Alternatively, you may appeal this Final Order in writing, within twenty (20) days of the date of this mailing to the Contractors' Registration and Licensing Board. For additional information, please see our website at www.crb.ri.gov, or contact us by telephone at (401) 921-1590.

Sincerely,

Michael W. Suriani Senior Investigator

Contractors' Registration & Licensing Board

Michael Suriani

Division of Building, Design & Fire Professionals

Department of Business Regulations

Michael.Suriani@dbr.ri.gov

Phone (401)-889-5480

Cell (401)-318-5582