10/11/22, 1:32 PM about:blank



VIA- Certified Mail

Rhode Island Department of Business Regulation

Contractors' Registration and Licensing Board

560 Jefferson Blvd. Ste. 200, Warwick, Rhode Island 02886

Telephone: (401) 921-1590 Fax: (401) 889-5535

September 15, 2022

William Araujo William Araujo

Registration/License Number:

Complain Associated with Violation: C-10968

RE: FINAL ORDER -Disciplinary Action- Violation # V-6664

On or about August 15, 2022, you were provided with notice that the Rhode Island Contractors' Registration and Licensing Board determined that you were in violation of the following section(s) of Rhode Island General Law and intended to assess civil penalties as proposed

Violation

5-65-10(a)(10) - Performed work, or arranged to perform work, without a valid registration.

Violation Penalty

500

Description

On or about August 7, 2021, at 7 Lilac Lane, Portsmouth, the respondent began building concrete steps. This work is of the type which requires registration with the CRLB. A check of the registration database showed that the respondent was not registered.

Violation

5-65-3(o) - Failure to have written contract when work performed is in excess of \$1,000.00

Violation Penalty

500

Description

Respondent entered in an agreement to perform work at 7 Lilac Ln, Portsmouth, on or about August 6, 2021. The agreed upon value of the work was \$31,000. The homeowners of the property informed me that no written contract was ever drafted.

Violation

5-65-18 - Failure to provide mechanic's lien notice

Violation Penalty

about:blank 1/2

10/11/22, 1:32 PM about:blank

250

Description

Contracts for work require notice that the contractor provide the consumer with a notice that the contractor may file a lien in accordance with the Mechanic' Lien Law, as found in R.I. Gen. Law 34-28. As there was no written contract, the required notice was not provided to the consumer.

Fine amount: \$1,250

Because you did not request a hearing within the time allowed, the Proposed Order has converted to a Final Order. The fines, as listed above, are now due and payable. If payment is not received within twenty (20) days, your case may be referred to the Office of the Attorney General for criminal prosecution pursuant to RIGL § 5-65-19.

Alternatively, you may appeal this Final Order in writing, within twenty (20) days of the date of this mailing to the Contractors' Registration and Licensing Board. For additional information, please see our website at www.crb.ri.gov, or contact us by telephone at (401) 921-1590.

Sincerely,

Santiago O. Giron

Investigator

Contractors' Registration & Licensing Board Division of Building, Design & Fire Professionals

Department of Business Regulations

santiago.giron@dbr.ri.gov

Phone (401) 921-1209

Cell (401) 486-1531

about:blank