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Report on the Rhode Island Title Insurance Project 
 

I. Authority 

Pursuant to R.I. Gen. Laws § 27-71, the Rhode Island Insurance Division (the “Division”) 

within the Department of Business Regulation (“DBR”) undertook this Project to better 

understand the Rhode Island Title Insurance marketplace.  As part of this, the Division sent 

out a series of interrogatories and data requests to both title insurance companies and title 

insurance agents and followed-up via e-mail and/or teleconference to clarify company 

responses and identify any potential consumer, statutory or regulatory concerns. 

 

II. Background 

On May 29, 2020, the Rhode Island Supreme Court (the “Court”) in In re William E. 

Paplauskas, et al., issued a unanimous opinion establishing the functions involved in a 

residential real estate closing that may be performed by a licensed title insurance agent as 

defined in R.I. Gen. Laws § 27-2.6-3(17) (“Title Agent”)1 and those that must be performed by 

an attorney licensed by the Court (a “Licensed Attorney”).  The Division issued Rhode Island 

Insurance Bulletin 2020-8 (dated July 9, 2020) to inform interested parties of this ruling and the 

legal responsibilities and limitations the Division identified from that ruling, and the applicable 

statutory responsibilities.  The Court in In re Paplauskas, et al. also directed DBR to draft a 

disclosure notice to be used whenever a Title Agent who is not a Licensed Attorney conducts a 

residential real estate closing (see pages 28-29 of the decision). 

 

III. Methodology 

The Division reviewed market share data to identify insurance companies that sold title 

insurance in Rhode Island in 2019 and 2020.  The Division selected eleven (11) title insurers2 

 
1 We note that the statutorily defined terms of title insurance agent and insurance producer, defined in R.I. 

Gen. Laws § 27-2.4-2, are generally referred to as Title Agents within this report. 
2 This Report will refer to title insurance companies generally as title insurers. Title insurance contracts 

can only be written in Rhode Island by insurance companies authorized to sell title insurance pursuant to 

R.I. Gen. Laws § 27-2.6-6.  Most states have similar requirements that title insurers write only one line of 

insurance.  See NAIC State Licensing Handbook, Chapter 29.  Available online at 

https://content.naic.org/sites/default/files/inline-files/Chapter%2029.pdf. 

http://webserver.rilegislature.gov/Statutes/TITLE27/27-71/INDEX.htm
https://www.courts.ri.gov/Courts/SupremeCourt/SupremeOpinions/18-161,%20162,%20163.pdf
https://www.courts.ri.gov/Courts/SupremeCourt/SupremeOpinions/18-161,%20162,%20163.pdf
http://webserver.rilin.state.ri.us/Statutes/TITLE27/27-2.6/27-2.6-3.HTM
https://dbr.ri.gov/documents/news/insurance/InsuranceBulletin2020-8.pdf
https://dbr.ri.gov/documents/news/insurance/InsuranceBulletin2020-8.pdf
https://www.courts.ri.gov/Courts/SupremeCourt/SupremeOpinions/18-161,%20162,%20163.pdf
https://content.naic.org/sites/default/files/inline-files/Chapter%2029.pdf
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reporting the most title insurance premium in 2019 and twenty (20) Title Agents with high 

ratios in 2020 of selling enhanced vs. standard title insurance policies to respond to 

interrogatories and follow-up questions beginning in August 2021 and concluding in July 

2023.  The questions and confidential responses have been documented for review by other 

states in an online database for state insurance regulators.3 

 

The interrogatories included questions designed to evaluate compliance with:  

a) In re Paplauskas, et al. and Insurance Bulletin 2020-8,  

b) Policies and procedures for insurance reports and owners’ policies and lenders’ 

policies,  

c) How the companies meet and/or oversee biennial agent audits,  

d) How agent license status is verified,  

e) How the companies prevent the tying of title services to other services,  

f) The selling of enhanced American Land Title Association4 (ALTA) Homeowner’s 

and standard Owner’s policies, and  

g) The use of closing protection letters.   

 

The Division asked follow-up questions as applicable including requests for details regarding 

loss and expense ratios and other statutory and regulatory compliance concerns. 

 

The Division asked questions of the selected Title Agents with two general purposes: a) to 

confirm that day-to-day Title Agent activities matched the responses received from the title 

insurer and b) to gain a better understanding of how these standard and enhanced title 

insurance policies are marketed to consumers, since they come with additional costs. 

 

IV. Observations 

a) Rhode Island Supreme Court Required Disclosure Notice 
In In re Paplauskas, et al, the Court determined a Title Agent who is not a Licensed Attorney 

may perform specific functions in conjunction with the provision of title insurance for a 

residential real estate closing.5  To complete the functions, the Title Agent must provide 

disclosure to the participants in the residential real estate closing.  As noted above, the Court 

directed DBR to draft a disclosure notice for Title Agents who are not Licensed Attorneys.  

One of the main reasons for this Project was to ensure that this Court required disclosure had 

been adopted by all title insurers.   

 
3 Responses from Title Insurers are confidential pursuant to R.I. Gen. Laws § 27-71-8, which ensures 

market conduct surveillance personnel full access to insurer records by protecting the information that is 

presented to the market conduct personnel. 
4 American Land Title Association, referred to as ALTA, is a national title insurance trade association that 

prepares and distributes title insurance policy forms (i.e., insurance contracts) and related documents to 

promote consistent title insurance practices in the United States.  
5 The Court specified that non-attorney Title Agents may (1) conduct a residential real estate closing; (2) 

draft a residency affidavit; and (3) draft a limited durable power of attorney, so long as those activities are 

carried out in connection with the issuance of title insurance.  The Court also found that non-attorney 

Title Agents may not conduct an examination of title for marketability or draft a deed in connection with 

a closing. 

https://www.courts.ri.gov/Courts/SupremeCourt/SupremeOpinions/18-161,%20162,%20163.pdf
https://dbr.ri.gov/documents/news/insurance/InsuranceBulletin2020-8.pdf
https://www.courts.ri.gov/Courts/SupremeCourt/SupremeOpinions/18-161,%20162,%20163.pdf
https://webserver.rilegislature.gov/Statutes/TITLE27/27-71/27-71-8.htm
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After completion of its Project, the Division reports that companies are using the disclosure 

notice as required.  After the Court decision and the Bulletin, Companies either created their 

own disclosure form or used the Division’s disclosure form.  The Division appreciates that 

the industry was able to appropriately adopt these changes.  One best practice that the 

Division noted was that one company used a newly designed state-specific audit plan to help 

ensure compliance. 

b) Policyholder Notice of Policy Terms and Exemptions  
R.I. Gen. Laws § 27-2.6-12 provides statutory protections to persons purchasing title 

insurance.  Title insurers and Title Agents are required to provide a specific timely notice of 

the terms of a title insurance policy and any exemptions to the coverage to be underwritten.  

In a purchase transaction, additional notice must be provided to the purchaser that does not 

purchase title insurance explaining the lender’s policy does not cover the purchaser for 

possible title risk.  All title companies provided documentation that the notice requirements 

were being met for real estate closings conducted by the Rhode Island Title Agents.  

 

The information reviewed by the Division shows that Title Agents are providing appropriate 

notice to persons purchasing title insurance. The Rhode Island requirement is not an outlier 

and a similar Massachusetts requirement is outlined in Section V. Other State Best Practices, 

below.   

c) Licensure Status Checks  
Title insurers are required to have proof the Title Agent is licensed to complete work in 

Rhode Island as set forth in R.I. Gen. Laws § 27-2.6-13.  The Division asked specific 

questions about license status checks.  Title insurers provided a variety of responses to the 

Division’s questions about their activities to ensure the license status of the Title Agents that 

were selling their title insurance policies, as required by R.I. Gen. Laws § 27-2.6-13(e).  

While all title insurers were confirming license status as required by law, some title insurers 

were verifying the licensure status of each agent less frequently than preferred by the 

Division.  The Division believes verifying licensure status when onboarding a new agent and 

then annually or upon renewal thereafter (typically every two-years) is not frequent enough to 

account for license changes mid-term (such as cancellations or suspensions) and therefore 

does not meet the requirements of R.I. Gen. Laws § 27-2.4-15 whereby insurers are 

prohibited from paying unlicensed agents. 

 

The Division believes that insurance companies should verify the status of all insurance 

producer licenses at least quarterly (including Title Agent licenses), if not more frequently.  

With improvements in national electronic licensing records, this type of verification could be 

done as frequently as daily with minimal human interaction. 

d) Other Oversight and Monitoring of Title Agents 
R.I. Gen. Laws § 27-2.6-13 sets forth several other requirements for title insurers in the 

oversight and monitoring of their Title Agents.  Three additional topics reviewed in the 

Project about Title Agent oversight included on-site reviews, control over policy forms and 

policy numbers, and commission payments. 

 

https://webserver.rilegislature.gov/Statutes/TITLE27/27-2.6/27-2.6-12.htm
https://webserver.rilegislature.gov/Statutes/TITLE27/27-2.6/27-2.6-13.htm
https://webserver.rilegislature.gov/Statutes/TITLE27/27-2.6/27-2.6-15.htm
https://webserver.rilegislature.gov/Statutes/TITLE27/27-2.6/27-2.6-13.htm
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1. Biennial On-Site Reviews 

R.I. Gen. Laws § 27-2.6-13(b) requires title insurers to complete biennial on-site reviews of 

contracted Title Agents.  Most title insurers were able to complete the on-site reviews, even 

with challenges resulting from COVID-19 restrictions. Companies that did not complete the 

biennial review will be subject to Division compliance actions.   

 

The Division notes that if the biennial requirement remains in the statute, it remains a 

requirement.  Title insurers should complete their on-site review of Title Agents no less 

frequent than every 730 days (i.e., every two years).  

 

2. Inventory of Policy Forms and Policy Numbers 

One requirement of the biennial on-site reviews set forth in R.I. Gen. Laws § 27-2.6-13(b) is 

the review of the Title Agent’s policy blank inventory and policy numbers, allowing the title 

insurer to comply with the inventory of policy forms and policy numbers allocated to the 

Title Agent requirement set forth in R.I. Gen. Laws § 27-2.6-13(d). When enacted in 2010, 

title insurance policy forms were in paper format and the title insurance policy numbers were 

tracked manually.  In response to the Division’s title questions, title insurers advised the 

Division that electronic tools are utilized to monitor the inventory of title insurance policy 

forms and title insurance policy numbers.  

 

The Division supports the electronic monitoring systems used by title insurers.   

 

3. Commission Payments to Title Agents 

While this is not an oversight requirement, Rhode Island does require title insurers submit an 

Annual Contracted Producers Report (“ACPR”) each year by March 1 pursuant to R.I. Gen. 

Laws § 27-2.4-2(2).  (See also R.I. Insurance Regulation 230-RICR-20-50-50-5.)  Title 

insurers are required to submit an ACPR listing all contracted, licensed Title Agents, 

reporting whether a commission was paid to each licensed Title Agent and to remit the 

statutory fee for any Title Agent receiving more than $100 in commission.  In reviewing 

ACPRs submitted by title insurers, the Division noted that title insurers had trouble tracking 

individual Title Agents in their ACPR submissions.  Rather than listing individuals, title 

insurers included business entities (title and closing companies) contracted with the title 

insurer, in their ACPR submissions.  After additional follow-up, all title insurers were able to 

identify all the underlying individual licensed agents and complete their ACPR filing 

requirements.   

 

The Division believes title insurers should be able to easily identify the individual licensed 

Title Agent and license number for all issued title insurance policies, to comply with R.I. 

Gen. Laws § 27-2.4-15(a).  All applicable licensees should be identified within title insurer 

records.  

 

e) Tying of Title Services to Other Services  
 

R.I. Gen. Laws § 27-2.6-15 limits the activities that may be completed by Title Agents.  The 

Division requested title insurer policies & procedures that outlined how insurers ensured Title 

https://webserver.rilegislature.gov/Statutes/TITLE27/27-2.6/27-2.6-13.htm
https://webserver.rilegislature.gov/Statutes/TITLE27/27-2.6/27-2.6-13.htm
https://webserver.rilegislature.gov/Statutes/TITLE27/27-2.6/27-2.6-13.htm
https://webserver.rilegislature.gov/Statutes/TITLE27/27-2.4/27-2.4-2.htm
https://webserver.rilegislature.gov/Statutes/TITLE27/27-2.4/27-2.4-2.htm
https://rules.sos.ri.gov/regulations/part/230-20-50-5
https://webserver.rilegislature.gov/Statutes/TITLE27/27-2.4/27-2.4-15.htm
https://webserver.rilegislature.gov/Statutes/TITLE27/27-2.4/27-2.4-15.htm
https://webserver.rilegislature.gov/Statutes/TITLE27/27-2.6/27-2.6-15.htm


 

5 

 

Agents were not engaging in tying activities.  All title insurers provided documentation that 

tying activities were not allowed and the oversight of Title Agents included the review for 

tying activities.    

 

The Division appreciates that title insurers have outlined the tying activity prohibition and 

included reviews for potential tying activities in their oversight of Title Agents.   

 

f) Selling of Standard Owner’s and Enhanced Homeowner’s Policies 
 

The Division understands that Title Agents have two primary title insurance products to offer 

the purchaser of title insurance: ALTAs standard Owner’s policy and the enhanced 

Homeowner’s policy.  The standard Owner’s policy typically covers defects or liens existing 

before the real estate closing.  An enhanced Homeowner’s policy typically includes all the 

coverage provided by a standard policy plus protection against additional risks, potentially 

even providing coverage after the closing date.  The Division requested information and 

supporting documentation from title insurers and from the data received identified a dozen 

Title Agents who had sold significantly more enhanced policies than standard policies during 

the review period.   

 

The title insurers advised the purchase of title insurance is a sale between a Title Agent and 

the consumer.  This sale includes the explanation of the differences in the coverage provided 

in a standard policy or an enhanced policy. All title insurers did respond that they provided 

materials to Title Agents to be used in the explanation and sale of title insurance explaining 

both standard and enhanced polices.   

 

The Division then reached out to Title Agents regarding these sales. The outreach both 

confirmed the information provided by the title insurers and addressed the Division’s 

concerns that Title Agents provided notice to each purchaser and that the decision about 

which policy was purchased was made by the consumers.  Through this process, the Division 

has gained a better understanding of the selling of standard and enhanced policies. 

 

g) Closing Protection Letters 
 

R.I. Gen. Laws § 27-2.6-6(c) allows for the use of closing protection letters if they are filed 

with the Division.  All title insurers provided documentation that the closing protection letter 

requirements were being met for real estate closings conducted by the Title Agents.  

 

The Division appreciates that title insurers are complying with the requirements.  

 

V. Other State Best Practices 

During the review of title insurer responses, the Division looked to similar states and 

regulatory authorities for additional best practices.  The Massachusetts Board of Bar 

Overseers (“BBO”) updated disclosure and consent requirements for the sale of title 

insurance in a December 15, 2022 article entitled The Cost of Doing Business (With a 

https://webserver.rilegislature.gov/Statutes/TITLE27/27-2.6/27-2.6-6.htm
https://bbopublic.massbbo.org/web/f/cost_of_doing_business.pdf
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Client).  BBO requirements set forth in the article are to: 

 

• Disclose to the buyer the cost of the title insurance policy, 

• Advise clients of the desirability of seeking independent legal advice as to the 

purchase of a title insurance policy,  

• Clearly inform the client of the lawyer’s role in the sale of the title insurance policy, 

which includes disclosure of the lawyers share of the title policy commission; and, 

• Secure clients written consent to the terms of the transaction.   

 

The article continues with the Massachusetts Rules of Professional Conduct requiring the 

lawyer to give the client reasonable opportunity to seek the advice of independent counsel in 

the transaction, which means the client needs advance notice to be able to make an informed 

decision about the purchase of title insurance.  It is not sufficient to secure a client’s written 

consent for the purchase of a title insurance policy with notice given at or shortly before the 

closing, by presenting the client with a form to be signed along with the other purchase and 

mortgage documents.   

 

VI. Premiums 

The actual cost of title insurance depends upon the value of the property, the insurer from 

which the coverage is purchased and the location of the property.  The median price of homes 

sold has risen sharply since the beginning of 2020.  Record low interest rates, families feeling 

cramped due to COVID-19 quarantines and supply chain issues for building products have all 

combined to worsen the housing shortage, all combined to create an extraordinarily hot 

housing market. 

 

As a result of the hot real estate market, national title insurance premiums increased from 

roughly $19.24 billion in 2020 to $26.12 billion in 2021 and then decreased to $21.90 billion 

in 2022.  During this same period, Rhode Island title insurance premiums mirrored the 

national trends increasing from $44.84 million in 2020 to $68.79 million in 2021 and then 

decreasing to $52.95 million in 2022 (see charts below, data provided by the National 

Association of Insurance Commissioners). 

 

In addition to the value of the property, the insurer and geographic location of the property, 

the title insurance premium can include the following: 

 

• Title search fees, 

• Closing protection letter, 

• Government recording fees, 

• Tax and other certificates, and 

• Closing administrative fees. 

 

https://bbopublic.massbbo.org/web/f/cost_of_doing_business.pdf
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R.I. Gen. Laws Chapter 27-71 

 

The Cost of Doing Business (With a Client) - Massachusetts Board of Bar Overseers -  

https://bbopublic.massbbo.org/web/f/cost_of_doing_business.pdf  

 

VIII. Current Compliance Actions and Next Steps 

With this report, the Division will be closing its Project reviewing the Rhode Island title 

insurance market.  The Division also expects to issue a Bulletin on Title Insurance in the 

coming months that will identify some best practices and address rate filings.  And the 

Division is considering how to address any potential non-compliance its reviews identified. 

 

The Division will continue to work with the title insurers and Title Agents to provide 

effective regulation and supervision of the Rhode Island title insurance marketplace. 

 

 

IX. Report Submission 

This Project was conducted by Brett Bache, Market Conduct Examiner-in-Charge, Brian 

Werbeloff, Principal Insurance Examiner, Patrick Smock, Deputy Chief of Legal Services 

and Matthew Gendron, Chief of Regulatory Compliance for the Rhode Island Department of 

Business Regulation Insurance Division.   

 

     Respectfully submitted,  

       
      Matthew Gendron 

      Chief of Regulatory Compliance 

 

https://webserver.rilegislature.gov/Statutes/TITLE27/27-71/INDEX.htm
https://bbopublic.massbbo.org/web/f/cost_of_doing_business.pdf

