DEPARTMENT OF BUSINESS REGULATION INSURANCE DIVISION 1511 Pontiac Ave., Bldg 69-2 Cranston, RI 02920 http://www.dbr.ri.gov/divisions/insurance/

# ~ RHODE ISLAND SPECIAL REPORTING REQUIREMENTS 2022 ~

RESPOND ACCORDINGLY

Fraternal Organizations #2 only Life Insurers #2, #5, #8, #9, and #10 Property and Casualty Insurers #1, #2, #3 and #5 through #7 Surplus Line Insurers #3 and #7 only Surplus Line Brokers #1 and #4 only Self-Insured Entities #3 & #7 only Title Companies #2 only \*\* NEW IN 2022 \*\* Health Insurers (HMOs or HMDIs) #2 only \*\* NEW IN 2022 \*\*

> INSURERS WHO DO NOT HAVE TO RESPOND: Risk Retention Groups Accredited or Approved Reinsurers

# #1 Insurance Coverage for Lead Poisoning

<u>230-RICR-20-05-9</u> §9.10 enumerates the filing requirements. Property and Casualty Insurers shall file reports on an individual company basis utilizing the respective form provided in <u>Insurance Bulletin 2018-11</u>. Surplus Line Brokers shall file on an individual licensee basis utilizing the respective form provided in Exhibit B. Exhibit A and Exhibit B are form-fillable; when done completing, save a copy to your computer and then email the saved copy to <u>dbr.specialreports@dbr.ri.gov</u>. If there is nothing to report, do not submit a report – the <u>absence</u> of a filed report will be deemed to be a "none" report.

# #2 Annual Contracted Producers Report

230-RICR-20-50-5 §5.7 requires each insurer doing business in Rhode Island to file this report with the Department and pay the applicable fee. The report and fee must be submitted via OptIns. Filing instructions are found here on OptIns' website. Please click here for FAQ's. All individual producers appointed by an insurer must be included on the report. "Appointed" mean an insurance producer acting as an agent of an insurer. "Insurer" is defined HERE. Payment of \$30 per producer is required for each producer to which \$100.00 or more was paid in commission for Rhode Island business during the prior calendar year. To streamline this process, the Department created a spreadsheet template with the requirements for this report. If you need additional rows in the spreadsheet, please feel free to use your own spreadsheet as long as the required information (as found on the template) is captured. You must attach a spreadsheet in accordance with the instructions found in the FAQ's. If you have any questions, please send an email to dbr.acpr@dbr.ri.gov.

## #3 Professional Liability Annual Report

All entities, including self-insured entities, providing professional liability insurance coverage to licensed healthcare professionals or licensed healthcare facilities are required to submit annual reports. <u>R.I. Gen. Laws § 42-14-2.1(c)</u> enumerates the filing requirements. Reports must be submitted electronically to <u>dbr.specialreports@dbr.ri.gov</u>. <u>There is no specific form required for this report. The Department suggests that the report be filed on company letterhead utilizing the guidance enumerated in the statute and/or Regulation. If there is nothing to report, do not submit a report – the <u>absence</u> of a filed report will be deemed to be a "none" report.</u>

# #4 Surplus Line Broker Annual Report

<u>R.I. Gen. Laws §27-3-38</u> (d) and <u>230-RICR-20-50-1§1.7</u> requires every licensed surplus line broker to report the total number of policies and premium written in the preceding calendar year utilizing the annual report form provided in <u>Insurance Bulletin 2018-9</u>. The annual report is form-fillable; when done completing, save a copy to your computer and then email the saved copy to <u>dbr.specialreports@dbr.ri.gov</u>. If there is nothing to report, do not submit a report – the <u>absence</u> of a filed report will be deemed to be a "none" report. Do not send Form T-71A to the Department of Business Regulation. This form is required by the RI Division of Taxation and should be sent to that agency for proper reporting/filing.

# #5 Credit Life/Accident & Health Filing

230-RICR-20-60-1 §1.10 enumerates the filing requirements. Effective in 2018, to streamline and eliminate duplicate

## Due March 1

## Due March I

**Due April 1** 

# **Due February 1**

**Due March 1** 

# Due June 1

reporting, insurers subject to filing will only be required to file with the National Association of Insurance Commissioners (NAIC) Support and Services Office a report of consumer credit insurance written on a calendar year basis. The report shall utilize the Credit Insurance Supplement—Annual Statement Blank as approved by the NAIC, and shall contain data separately for each state, rather than an allocation of the company's countrywide experience. The filing shall be made in accordance with and no later than the due date in the Instructions to the Annual Statement. Duplicate reporting to the commissioner is no longer required.

### **#6**. Auto Body Labor Rate Survey Reports

R.I. Gen. Laws § 27-29-4.4 and 230-RICR-20-05-10§10.7 (formerly Insurance Regulation 108), enumerate the filing requirements. Prior to May 1 the Department will publish a Bulletin on its website providing a list of those insurers and insurance groups determined by the Department to have >1% market share that are required to conduct a survey and submit the report to the Department by September 1. Insurers and insurance groups determined to have <1% market share may voluntarily conduct the survey and file the report by September 1<sup>st</sup> or negotiate the payment of auto body labor rates with each licensed Full Collision Repair Auto Body Facility. Please visit the Department's website yearly to determine if your insurer is required to conduct the survey based upon market share. The Bulletin will also provide information for insurers with <1% market share. Insurers may submit reports on a group basis. For those licensees subject to filing with the Department, reports must be submitted electronically to dbr.specialreports@dbr.ri.gov. A hard copy is no longer required.

### #7. **Professional Liability Claim Settlement Report**

Requires all entities, including self-insured entities, providing professional liability insurance coverage to licensed healthcare professionals or licensed healthcare facilities to report within thirty (30) days after notice of the claim, settlement, judgment or arbitration award. Please see R.I. Gen. Laws § 42-14-2.1(a) for detailed reporting requirements. Reports must be submitted electronically to dbr.specialreports@dbr.ri.gov. There is no specific form required for this report. The Department suggests that the report be filed on company letterhead utilizing the guidance enumerated in the statute and/or Regulation. If there is nothing to report, do not submit a report – the absence of a filed report will be deemed to be a "none" report.

### **#8.** Life Illustrations Certifications

Life Illustrations Certifications subject to 230-RICR-20-25-14 §14.11 and Advertising Certifications of Compliance subject to 230-RICR-20-25-5 §5.10 must be filed via SERFF as informational filings. The correct TOI to use is "L08 Life - Other" or "A10 Annuities - Other", whichever is applicable. A filing fee of \$25 is required if the retaliatory fee is not greater. Filings will not be accepted via any method other than SERFF.

#### **#9.** Long-Term Care Reporting

Long-Term Care Reporting Requirements subject to 230-RICR-20-35--01 §1.15 must be filed via SERFF using the Special Reports filing type. The correct TOI to use is "LTC06 Long Term Care - Other". Reports will not be accepted via any method other than SERFF. A filing fee of \$25 is required if the retaliatory fee is not greater.

#### #10. **Retained Asset Account Reporting**

Retained Asset Account reports subject to the R.I. Gen. Laws § 27-4.9-6 must be filed via SERFF using the Special Reports filing type. The correct TOI to use is "L08 Life - Other". Reports will not be accepted via any method other than SERFF. A filing fee of \$25 is required if the retaliatory fee is not greater.

## Lender Placed Insurance Annual Data Reports **\*\* NEW IN 2022 \*\*** #11.

Any insurer who is required to submit an Annual Data Report with both Rhode Island and National loss ratio should do so through an electronic submission to dbr.specialreports@dbr.ri.gov. There is no specific form required for this report. The Department suggests that the report be filed on company letterhead with all required information.

# PLEASE FORWARD TO APPROPRIATE AREAS WITHIN YOUR COMPANY

Special Reporting Req 2022: updated 10/28/2021

# **Due:** Annually

**Due: See below** 

Due Sept 1

# Due: June 30

# **Due: Annually**

# Due: April 1