

State of Rhode Island Department of Business Regulation Insurance Division

SURPLUS LINES INSURER REGISTRATION

Per <u>Rhode Island Insurance Bulletin 2011-6</u>, and in accordance with the Nonadmitted and Reinsurance Reform Act of 2010, any US domiciled surplus lines insurer that intends to write risks located in Rhode Island must submit the following to the Insurance Division:

- 1. Certificate of Authority from the insurers domiciliary state evidencing that the insurer is authorized to write such business in its domiciliary jurisdiction
- 2. Confirmation of Capital and Surplus of \$15,000,000 from the company's most recent Annual and/or Quarterly Statements
- 3. Appointment of a surplus lines broker or another individual who is a resident of this state as agent for service of process, along with a copy of a letter which indicates that the individual has agreed to act in this capacity in accordance with <u>RIGL §27-3-41</u>
- 4. An application fee of \$100 made payable to "General Treasurer State of Rhode Island"
- 5. Completion of the Rhode Island surplus lines insurer information form
- 6. For companies that intend to order placards, completion of the <u>emergency contact and placard order form</u>. Please note that obtaining placards would be in the company's best interest in the occurrence of a catastrophic event in the State of Rhode Island. Without contact information and placards, your company would not be provided access to disaster areas which may contain policyholders in need of assistance.

Upon confirmation of the above information, the insurer will be added to the next update of the Rhode Island <u>Registered</u> <u>Surplus Lines Insurer</u> list for purposes of <u>RIGL §27-3-40</u>. A confirmation letter will be provided via email.

For annual renewal requirements, surplus lines insurers should refer to Rhode Island's <u>Property and Casualty Insurer</u> <u>filing instructions</u>. Annual renewal invoices are mailed to surplus lines insurers March 1 of each year.

Completed filings and related questions should be directed to:

Deb Almeida (401) 462-9542 Debra.Almeida@dbr.ri.gov

Mailing Address: Rhode Island Insurance Division 1511 Pontiac Avenue Bldg 69-2 Cranston, RI 02920