

# State of Rhode Island Department of Business Regulation Division of Commercial Licensing Real Estate Section 1511 Pontiac Ave, Bldg. 69-1 Cranston, RI 02920

### REQUIREMENTS FOR RECIPROCAL REAL ESTATE SALESPERSONS

The following requirements apply to Non-residents who reside in Connecticut or Massachusetts, who currently have an active Real Estate Salesperson license in either state.

### Please submit the following:

- A completed <u>Reciprocal Real Estate Salesperson Application</u>
- A <u>Criminal History Record (CHR)</u> from the Rhode Island Department of the Attorney General located at 4 Howard Avenue, Cranston, RI 02920. Hours of operation are 8:30 am to 4:30 pm. For further questions about this process, you may contact the DAG at (401) 274-4400. A <u>CHR/CORI</u> from the applicant's home state law enforcement agency is also required.
- A <u>Lead Poisoning/Lead Hazard Mitigation Certificate of Completion</u> for three (3) hours
   (an approved Real Estate Pre-Licensing and Continuing Education Course List can be found on the DBR website at <u>www.dbr.ri.gov</u>)
- A Certificate of Errors and Omissions Insurance
- A Letter of Good Standing from home state's licensing authority
- An irrevocable <u>Power of Attorney Form</u> for service of process (included in application package)

Residents of Florida may apply for a Reciprocal Real Estate Salesperson's license in the state of Rhode Island through the <u>Mutual Recognition Agreement</u>, provided they first sit for the "state" portion of the examination and submit the above documentation. To schedule an examination, contact Pearson VUE at (800) 274-8922 or visit their website at <u>www.pearsonvue.com</u>.

### **FEES: Remit TWO separate Checks or Money Orders**

- 1st Check \$140, payable to the "RI General Treasurer"
   AND;
- 2nd Check \$25, payable to the "Real Estate Recovery Account."

Rev. 12/31/19 Tel: 401-462-9512 TDD: 711 Web Site: www.dbr.ri.gov



## State of Rhode Island Department of Business Regulation Division of Commercial Licensing Real Estate Section 1511 Pontiac Ave, Bldg. 69-1 Cranston, RI 02920

## RECIPROCAL REAL ESTATE SALESPERSON APPLICATION

Please print or type. Incomplete applications will be returned. Please allow 7-10 business days for processing.

1. APPLICANT INFORMATION								
Name:				SSN:				
Date of Birth:		Age:		L	egal Resident?	□ Yes	□ No	
Residential Address:								
City:	State:				Zip Code:			
Phone Number:		Email Address:						
Present Occupation:								
Have you ever been refused a real estate broker's or salesperson's license in this or any other state?   □ Yes □ No								
Have you ever had any real estate license suspended or revoked? □ Yes □ No								
Have you ever been convicted of, or plead guilty or nolo contendre to forgery, embezzlement, obtaining money under false pretenses, bribery, larceny, extortion, conspiracy to defraud, or any other offenses of any type which would reasonably cause the Department to question your honesty, trustworthiness, integrity, good reputation or competency?    No  2. EMPLOYMENT INFORMATION								
Agency Name:			Phone l	one Number:				
Address:								
City:	State:				Zip Code:			
Principal Broker Name:				RI License No.:				
I, certify that the applicant has applied for employment as a Principal Broker (Print) salesperson, and in my opinion, is competent and trustworthy and is recommended as a suitable person to be granted a salesperson's license.								
Principal Broker Signature				Date of Signature (MM/DD/YY)				

Rev. 3/21/19 Tel: 401-462-9512 TDD: 711 Web Site: www.dbr.ri.gov

3. AFFIDAVIT(S) & SIGNATURE							
Tax Payer Status Affidavit							
ursuant to R.I. Gen. Laws, Chapter 5-76, as amended, any person applying for or renewing any license, permit, or other							
authority to conduct a business or occupation within Rhode Island must have filed all required state tax returns and paid all							
taxes due to the state, or must have entered into a written agreement to pay delinquent state taxes that is satisfactory to the Tax							
Administrator.							
Have you filed all required Rhode Island State tax returns, and have you paid all taxes owed? $\Box$ Yes $\Box$ No $\Box$ N/A							
Affidavit of Application							
I swear, under penalty of perjury that the information provided in connection with this application is true to the best of my							
knowledge, with the understanding that any omissions, inaccuracies or failure to make full disclosures may be deemed sufficient							
reason to deny licensure by the Rhode Island Department of Business Regulation.							
Teason to delly necessare by the fundae island Department of Submess Regulation.							
Signature of Applicant Date of Signature (MM/DD/YY)							
4. POWER OF ATTORNEY (Non-Residents ONLY)							
I,, having applied to be licensed as a non-resident real estate salesperson in the State of Rhode							
Island, do hereby irrevocably appoint the Director of the Department of Business Regulation, his successor or successors, as my							
lawful attorney, upon whom all lawful process in any action or legal proceeding against me may be served in like manner and							
with the same legal force and effect as if I had been lawfully served with said process. As such, I do hereby authorize said							
attorney to receive and accept service of process, pursuant to the provisions of R.I. Gen. Laws § 5-20.5-10(d).							
accorney to receive and accept service or process, pursuant to the provisions of this delis daws & 5-20.5-10(u).							
Cionatura of Applicant	<del></del>						
Signature of Applicant Date of Signature (MM/DD/YY)							
OFFICE USE ONLY							
	Date						
Date application was received:							
Letter of Good Standing Received:							
FL ONLY - State Test Score Report:							
Lead Poisoning/Lead Hazard Course Received:							
Errors and Omissions Insurance Received:							
CHR/CORI Received:  License #.:							
Approval:							

Rev. 3/21/19 Tel: 401-462-9512 TDD: 711 Web Site: <u>www.dbr.ri.gov</u>

**Expiration:**