

State of Rhode Island DEPARTMENT OF BUSINESS REGULATION Division of Commercial Licensing 1511 Pontiac Avenue, Bldg. 69-1

1511 Pontiac Avenue, Bldg. 69-1 Cranston, Rhode Island 02920

INITIAL UPHOLSTERY AND STERILIZATION INSTRUCTIONS AND APPLICATION

Applicants are <u>strongly encouraged</u> to apply online at: https://elicensing.ri.gov/

Complete the application and return with the following required attachments.

Incomplete applications will be returned.

- <u>LICENSE FEE</u> Check or Money Order in U.S. Dollars and drawn on a U.S. bank made payable to "Rhode Island General Treasurer"
 - o Manufacturer -- \$630 Valid for three (3) years
 - o Supply Dealer -- \$630 Valid for three (3) years
 - o Second-Hand -- \$180 Valid for three (3) years
 - o Renovator/Repairer -- \$180 Valid for three (3) years
 - o Sterilization Permit -- \$84 Valid for one (1) year
- <u>UNIFORM REGISTRY NUMBER</u> Copy of valid license from the state you received your Uniform Registry Number (URN)
- OTHER REQUIREMENTS

Manufacturer/Supply Dealer

- Law label per R.I. Gen. Law § 23-26-20
 - o <u>If materials require sterilization you must also apply for a sterilization permit</u>

Second-Hand Bedding & Upholstered Furniture

- Second-Hand law label per R.I. Gen. Laws § 23-26-17 and 23-26-20
 - o Must also apply for a Sterilization Permit

Renovator/Repair - Consumer or Direct Sale from Licensee

- Renovator/Repairer law label per R.I. Gen. Law § 23-26-14
 - o If materials require sterilization you must also apply for a sterilization permit

Sterilization Permit: R.I. Gen. Laws §§ 23-26-7 & 23-26-7.1:

- Sterilization label/tags and copy of Sterilization Permit from original state issuing permit
- Name of Sterilization Method Used and Copy of the Product information label
 - o Product must be registered as a consumer and health benefit product and labeled for use on bedding and upholstered furniture by the EPA

Tel: (401) 462-9506 TTY: 711 <u>www.dbr.ri.gov</u> REV 4/17/20



State of Rhode Island DEPARTMENT OF BUSINESS REGULATION Division of Commercial Licensing 1511 Pontiac Avenue, Bldg. 69-1 Cranston, Rhode Island 02920

INITIAL UPHOLSTERY APPLICATION

Please type. **Incomplete applications will be returned.**

LICENSE TYPE (check all that apply)					
□ Manufacturer □ Supply Dealer □ Renovator/Repairer □ Second-Hand □ Sterilizer Permit					
BUSINESS/PLANT INFORMATION					
Name:			FEIN:		
DBA (If applicable):					
Address:					
City, State, Zip:					
Mailing Address (if different from above):					
Email:			Phone:		
Type of product:					
List all materials used:					
REGISTRATION SERVICE/IMPORTER INFORMATION (if applying on behalf of manufacturer)					
Registration Service Name:					
Registration Service Address:					
Registration Service City, State, Zip:					
Registration Service Email:			Phone:		
Will all correspondence be sent to the Registration Service?	□ Yes	□ No			
Is this a joint registry?	□ Yes	□ No			
Importer Name:					
Importer Address:					
Importer City, State, Zip:					
Importer Email:			Phone:		
Will all correspondence be sent to the Importer?	□ Yes	□ No			
UNIFORM REGISTRY NUMBER INFORMATION					
Do you have an URN?	□ Yes	□ No			
If yes, what is the URN on the Law Label?					
If no, are you requesting one from the State of Rhode Island?	□ Yes	□ No			
STERILIZATION PERMIT INFORMATION					
Are the materials used sterilized?	□ Yes	□ No			
If yes, method/product used for sterilization: (Proof of sterilization materials and label must be attached)					

Tel: (401) 462-9506 TTY: 711 <u>www.dbr.ri.gov</u> REV 4/17/20



State of Rhode Island DEPARTMENT OF BUSINESS REGULATION Division of Commercial Licensing 1511 Pontiac Avenue, Bldg. 69-1 Cranston, Rhode Island 02920

INITIAL UPHOLSTERY APPLICATION — CONTINUED

Please type. Incomplete applications will be returned.

OFFICE USE ONLY				
	Date			
Date application received:				
Check # Amount:				
URN License received:				
Law Label received:				
Sterilization Materials received:				

Tel: (401) 462-9506 TTY: 711 <u>www.dbr.ri.gov</u> REV 4/17/20