

#### CLASS A MOTOR VEHICLE REPAIR RENEWAL APPLICATION REQUIREMENTS AND PACKET

Required fees and documentation to be submitted with <u>completed application</u> via mail to the address above:

- 1. Fee(s)
  - a. License Fee \$300 per year; maximum of three (3) years (\$900) made payable to Rhode Island General Treasurer
    - i. If You're obtaining the <u>optional</u> Salvage Repair License, an additional \$300 (maximum of 3 years and \$900) per year is required.
- 2. Certificate of Insurance Binder
  - a. Policy shall provide for bodily injury and property damage "Garage Liability" for five hundred thousand (\$500,000) combined single limit, and "Garage Keepers Liability" for damage to customer property for one hundred thousand (\$100,000) per occurrence.
- 3. Evidence of Fire Safety Approval
  - a. Letter from local Fire Department or State Fire Marshal stating shop has passed inspection according to all local and state laws/regulations/codes for fire, health, and safety. It must also confirm safety inspection and approval of spray booth and refinishing area for painting.
- 4. State of Rhode Island Criminal History Report (BCI)
  - a. Mandatory for all owners, corporate officers, and managers.
    - i. If any owners, corporate officers, or manager resides out of state, you must obtain the appropriate criminal history report from the state as well. (e.g., Massachusetts CORI)
- 5. Technician Certification and Copy of Valid Government ID for each listed technician NEW IN 2023
  - a. Proof of satisfactory completion of classes pursuant to <u>Regulation 230-RICR-30-05-2.12</u>. (NOTE: Only I-CAR and ASE transcripts or P&L Certificates are acceptable proof.)
  - b. Pursuant to Regulation 230-RICR-30-05-2.5(A)(4), <u>all technicians must be certified in all seven (7)</u> sections.
- 6. Evidence of certification for the repair and refinishing of aluminum
- 7. Evidence of lifetime warranty
  - 8. Evidence of a system for documenting customer complaints



### CLASS A MOTOR VEHICLE REPAIR RENEWAL APPLICATION REQUIREMENTS AND PACKET (CONTINUED)

- 9. Tax-Payer Status Affidavit (Included in application package)
- 10. Evidence of Good Standing (For Corporations and LLCs Only)
  - a. Applicants may submit either a Letter of Good Standing from the R.I. Secretary of State, or a printout from the Secretary of State's website proving that your corporation is not revoked by the Secretary of State.
- 11. EPA Hazardous Waste Generators Permit Number
  - a. Application can be found on DEM website at: http://www.dem.ri.gov/programs/benviron/waste/pdf/epaidno.pdf

#### PLEASE NOTE:

- Your license number must appear on all business communications, estimates, signs, business cards and other written documentation related to that business.
- Immediately notify the Department upon any change of information from your latest application. Transfers of owner or business location require a new application and must be approved in advance by the Department.
- The Department sends all correspondence regarding your application and license by email. Please make sure your email address is up to date.
- Inquire with your local city/town to verify if a local license is required for you to operate.



#### CLASS A MOTOR VEHICLE REPAIR RENEWAL APPLICATION

Please type. **Incomplete applications will be returned.** 

BASIC INFORMATION				
License Number Being Renewed:				
Do you want a Salvage Repairer License? ☐ Yes ☐ No				
If yes, please note: \$300 additional fee per year required with a maximum of three (3) year	s and \$900.			
OWNER INFORMATION				
Name:	DOB:			
Address:				
City, State, Zip:				
Email:	Phone:			
BUSINESS INFORMATION				
Type of Business				
□ Sole Proprietorship □ Partnership □ Corporation □ LLC □				
Name:	FEIN:			
DBA (If applicable):				
Address:				
City, State, Zip:	<u>,                                      </u>			
Email:	Phone:			
PARTNERS, MEMBERS, OFFICERS (IF APPLI	CABLE)			
Name:	DOB:			
Title:				
Address:				
City, State, Zip:				
Email:	Phone:			
Name:	DOB:			
Title:				
Address:				
City, State, Zip:				
Email:	Phone:			
Name:	DOB:			
Title:				
Address:				
City, State, Zip:				
Email:	Phone:			
Name:	DOB:			
Title:				
Address:				
City, State, Zip:				
Email:	Phone:			
Name:	DOB:			
Title:				
Address:				
City, State, Zip:				
Email:	Phone:			



#### <u>CLASS A MOTOR VEHICLE REPAIR **RENEWAL** APPLICATION — **CONTINUED**</u>

Please type. Incomplete applications will be returned.

DESIGNEE INFOR	MATION					
(Person The Department can speak to regarding the business)						
Name:						
Address:						
City, State, Zip:						
Email:		Phone:				
APPLICATION QUESTIONS						
Do you currently hold a Motor Vehicle Dealers License	e? 🗆 Yes 🗆 No					
If yes, provide License #:						
Do you currently hold an Appraiser/Adjuster License?	□ Yes □ No					
If we would be the week						
If yes, provide License #:  EPA Hazardous Waste Generators Permit #:						
Square Footage:						
Square rootage:						
NOTE: Licensees must perform repairs inside a fixed	location with at leas	t 4.000 SF of heated				
ground-level space		1,000 21 01 110000				
Describe Secured Storage Area:						
EMPLOYEE I	LIST					
Name:	□Technician	□ Shop Employee				
		• • •				
Name:	□Technician	□ Shop Employee				
Name:	□Technician	□ Shop Employee				
Name:	□Technician	□ Shop Employee				
Name:	□Technician	□ Shop Employee				
NT .	m. d. data	Charles and a second				
Name:	□Technician	□ Shop Employee				
Name:	□Technician	- Chan Employee				
Name:	□ i ecnnician	□ Shop Employee				
Name:	□Technician	□ Shop Employee				
1 (MIIIA)	- i commetan	- Shop Employee				
Name:	□Technician	□ Shop Employee				
	<del>-</del>	FFJ				
Name:	□Technician	□ Shop Employee				
		- F - J				



#### <u>CLASS A MOTOR VEHICLE REPAIR **RENEWAL** APPLICATION — **CONTINUED**</u>

Please type. Incomplete applications will be returned.

LICENSE REQUIREMENTS
Certification for the repair and refinishing of aluminum, high-strength steel, and other metal or alloy, by at least one automobile manufacturer or third-party administrator. (proof must be attached)
Name of manufacturer or third-party administrator:
A written lifetime warranty on repairs that is valid against workmanship defects is required. (Proof must be attached)
A system for documenting complaints is required.
(Proof must be attached)         Do you have electrical and /or hydraulic pulling equipment? □ Yes □ No
If yes, provide model:
Do you have current dimensional guides appropriate to vehicle being repaired? ☐ Yes ☐ No
If yes, provide model:
Do you have a four (4)-point clamping system to secure vehicle while making structural repairs? ☐ Yes ☐ No
If yes, provide model:
Do you have equipment/gauges mechanical or electronic capable of three-dimensional measurements?   No
If yes, provide model:
Do you have appropriate welding equipment to meet manufacturer's requirements?  □ Yes □ No
If yes, provide model:
Do you have a paint system or access to a paint system capable of producing original equipment manufacturer's requirements?   No
If yes, provide model:
Do you have a spray Booth that conforms to the requirements of the RI State Fire Marshall?  — Yes — No
If yes, provide model:
Do you have HVLP Spray guns that meet current EPA requirements? ☐ Yes ☐ No
If yes, provide model:
Do you have a refinishing area that complies with safety and environmental regulations?  □ Yes □ No
Do you have Parking in compliance with local laws and regulations to perform the repair work?



#### <u>CLASS A MOTOR VEHICLE REPAIR **RENEWAL** APPLICATION — **CONTINUED**</u>

Please type. **Incomplete applications will be returned.** 

# Tax Payer Status Affidavit Pursuant to R.I. Gen. Laws, Chapter 5-76, as amended, any person applying for or renewing any license, permit, or other authority to conduct a business or occupation within Rhode Island must have filed all required state tax returns and paid all taxes due to the state or must have entered into a written agreement to pay delinquent state taxes that is satisfactory to the Tax Administrator. Have you filed all required Rhode Island State tax returns, and have you paid all taxes owed? Affidavit of Application I swear, under penalty of perjury that the information provided in connection with this application is true to the best of my knowledge, with the understanding that any omissions, inaccuracies or failure to make full disclosures may be deemed sufficient reason to deny licensure by the Rhode Island Department of Business Regulation. Signature of Applicant Date of Signature (MM/DD/YY)

OFFICE USE ONLY								
Date application received:								
Check:	Amount:							
Technician Certifications received:	□ Yes	□ No		<b>1</b> □ <b>2</b>	□ 3 □ 4	□ 5 □	□ 7	
BCI(s) received:	□ Yes	□ No						
Insurance Binder received:	□ Yes	□ No						
Fire Safety Certificate received:	□ Yes	□ No						
Letter of Good Standing (if applicable)	received:	□ Yes	□ No					
EPA Number received:	□ Yes	□ No						