STATE OF RHODE ISLAND AND PROVIDENCE PLANTATIONS

DEPARTMENT OF BUSINESS REGULATION
DIVISION OF BANKING
1511 PONTIAC AVENUE, BUILDINGS 68, 69
CRANSTON, RI 02920

IN THE MATTER OF
17BK016

GREAT RIVERS COMMUNITY CAPITAL, INC.

CONSENT AGREEMENT

It is hereby agreed by and between the Rhode Island Department of Business Regulation
(“Department”), Banking Division, and Great Rivers Community Capital, Inc., Nationwide
Multistate Licensing System Number 1172959 (“Respondent™) as follows:

L R.I. Gen. Laws § 19-14-4, entitled “Annual fee” provides under subsection (a) that each
small loan lender licensee shall pay an annual license fee five hundred dollars ($550).

R.I. Gen. Laws § 19-14-4 (b) further provides that “any licensee who shall not pay the

annual fee by December 31 of each year shall be subject to a daily penalty of twentyOfive

dollars ($25) per day, subject to a maximum of seven hundred fifty dollars ($750).
2. R.I. Gen. Laws § 19-14-23, entitled, “Examinations and Investigations” provides in part

(b) that the total cost of an examination made pursuant to this section shall be paid by the

licensee or person being examined and shall include the following expenses: (2) all

reasonable technology costs related to the examination process and (3) all necessary and



reasonable education and training costs incurred by the state to maintain the proficiency
and competence of examination personnel. Part (c) of this section states that “all
expenses incurred pursuant to subsections(b)(2) and (b)(3) of this section shall be
allocated equally to each licensee, other than licensed mortgage loan originators, no more
frequently than annually and shall not exceed an annual average assessment of fifty
dollars ($50.00) per company for any three (3) calendar-year period.

R.I. Gen. Laws § 19-14-22(a), entitled, “Reporting Requirements” states that each
licensee shall annually on or before March 31 file a report with the director or the
director's designee giving any relevant information that the director or the director’s
designee may reasonably require concerning the business and operations during the
preceding calendar year of each licensed place of business conducted by the licensee
within the state. The report shall be made under oath and shall be in a form prescribed by
the director or the director's designee. At the time of filing each report, the sum of fifty-
five dollars ($55.00) per license and fifty-five dollars ($55.00) per branch certificate shall
be paid by the licensee to the director for the use of the state. Any licensee who shall
delay transmission of any report required by the provisions of this title beyond the limit,
unless additional time is granted, in writing, for good cause, by the director or the
director's designee, shall pay a penalty of twenty-five dollars ($25) for each day of the
delay.

R.I. Gen. Laws § 19-14-14 provides that the Director of the Director’s designee may
revoke any license without hearing by default if the licensee fails to respond to
notifications informing the licensee of a failure to pay the annual license fee.

On February 14, 2017, the Banking Division issued a Notice of Intent to Revoke
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Respondent’s Rhode Island Small Loan Lender License (“License”) for failure to pay the
annual licensing, report filing, and training and technology fees for renewal periods 2015
and 2016.

On or about March 1, 2017, Respondent contacted the Division, stating it’s full intention
to bring the License into compliance and to submit payment for all applicable fees owed
the Division.

Considering the Respondent’s licensing history and cooperation with the Department and
lack of Rhode Island consumer complaints regarding its small loan lending activity in
Rhode Island, the Division has elected to resolve this matter by agreement as authorized
by R.I. Gen. Laws § 42-35-9(d). Specifically, the Division will approve renewal of the
License subject to the Respondent’s execution of this Consent Agreement and payment of
outstanding licensing fees totaling: $1,310 which includes fees for the 2015 and 2016
renewal periods of $1,100 ($550 for each 2015 and 2016) in licensing fees, $110 ($55 for
each 2015 and 2016) in annual report fees, and $100 ($50 for each 2015 and 2016) of
training and technology fees. “ |

By signing this Consent Agreement, the Respondent acknowledges that it must maintain
the License in good standing, including timely renewal, in order to perform any its small
loan lending activity in Rhode Island.

Waiver of Hearing and Appeal. By agreeing to resolve this matter through the execution

of this Consent Agreement, Respondent knowingly and voluntarily waives any right to an
administrative hearing and waives any right to pursue an appeal to the Superior Court

under the Rhode Island Administrative Procedures Act, R.I. Gen. Laws § 42-35-1 ef seq.



CONSENTED AND AGREED TO BY:

Respondent:

Signature

Date: /@’/6"/7
Sheri Flanigan-Vazquez, Chief Operating Officer

STATE OF /C/(f$§¢9ux.’;f
COUNTYOF £ . L9y, (S

In S . hou S . in said County, on the/ {Q day of m, %4 ,7

before me personally appeared Sheri Flanigan-Vazquez, to me known and known by me to be
the Chief Operating Officer of and the person executing this instrument on behalf of Great
Rivers Community Capital, Incorporated, the party executing this instrument, and he/she
acknowledged said instrument by him/her so executed to be his/her free act and deed in such
capacity and the free act and deed of such corporation.
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Elizabeth Kelleher Dwyer
Superintendent of Banking and Insurance




