STATE OF RHODE ISLAND AND PROVIDENCE PLANTATIONS
DEPARTMENT OF BUSINESS REGULATION
1511 PONTIAC AVENUE
CRANSTON, RHODE ISLAND 02920

IN THE MATTER OF:

RHODE ISLAND RECYCLED METALS

RESPONDENT.

The Rhode Island Department of Business Regulation ("Department") and Rhode Island

Recycled Metals ("Respondent") agree as follows:

1. On or about September 13, 2010 the Department received information that unlicensed
auto wrecking and salvage activity was being conducted at: 434 Allen’s Avenue,
Providence, Rhode Island, 02905

2. On September 14, 2010 a Department inspector made a routine inspection to
Respondent’s place of business and discovered Respondent was in fact engaging in
Auto Wrecking and Salvage Yard activity without the benefit of licensure, in violation
of R.I Gen. Laws § 42-14.2 ef seq., and Commercial Licensing Regulation 6.

3. Respondent has been operating said Wrecking and Salvage Yard since May 11, 2010,
without prior approval for license from the Department a violation of R.I. Gen. Law §
42-14.2-3 License Required. “No person shall establish or operate an auto wrecking
yard or auto salvage yard without a license therefore as provided in this chapter and
in chapter 21 of title 5. The license issued to a licensee for the operation of an auto
wrecking yard or auto salvage yard shall be utilized solely at that location specified

on the license, and said location shall be used substantially for that operation, and




10.

not as a subordinate of a related business. The subordinate or related business, if
any, will be separate and apart from the auto wrecking yard and auto salvage yard
operation”

On September 30, 2010, the Department received an incomplete application for Auto
Wrecking and Salvage Yard along with required licensing fee of $750.00 from
Respondent.

On October 1, 2010, the Department sent a letter informing Respondent that the
application was not complete in that it was missing required items such as; proof of
worker’s compensation insurance, copy of local Secdnd Hand Dealers license, or proof
of R.I. Gen. Law §42-14.2-8 requirements, and criminal history record for all managers.

On October 29, 2010 the Department received all missing requirements.

Respondent voluntarily waives its right to the hearing process, voluntarily waives its
right to appeal to Superior Court, admits that the allegations set forth herein are true,
and agrees to take all necessary action as delineated in this Consent Agreement in order
to maintain its license in good-standing.

Respondent shall:

a. Comply with all statutory and regulatory requirements regarding licensure;

b. Pay an administrative penalty of $500.00

Respondent acknowledges and agrees that any failure by Respondent to maintain
compliance with any statutory or regulatory requirements as determined by the
Division of Commercial Licensing and Regulation of the Department, the Department
reserves the right to initiate the administrative hearing process to suspend or revoke
Respondent’s license pursuant to R.I. Gen. Laws §§42-14.2 and 42-35-9.

In the event that Respondent fails to maintain compliance with all statutory and

regulatory requirements, Respondent must notify the Department.




11. The application submitted by Respondent is complete and shall be approved upon

execution of the Consent Agreement and payment of the fine.

THE DEPARTMENT AND RESPONDENT HEREBY CONSENT AND AGREE TO

THE FOREGOING AS TO FORM AND SUBSTANCE:

Department of Business Regulation:

By:

Date:

Respondent

o024,

Maria D’ Alessandro, Esq.
Deputy Director of Securities,
Commercial Licensing and Racing & Athletics

H//Cf//O Date:




