
STATE OF RHODE ISLAND  
BOARD OF ACCOUNTANCY 

560 Jefferson Blvd. 1st Floor  

Warwick, Rhode Island 02886 

 

RHODE ISLAND CPA REINSTATEMENT 

APPLICATION 

 

1. Full name (print)  Email   

Residence Address   Phone  

Employer Name   Phone  

Employer Address     

Preference for mailings (check one) residence (   ) business  (   )   *SS Number   

2. List all other states in which you hold or have made application for a permit/license to practice public accounting 
 

 

3. Have you ever had a professional or vocational license suspended or revoked by the State of Rhode Island or any other 

state or foreign country? Yes ( ) No (   ) (If yes, please detail on separate sheet.) 

 

4. Are you engaged in the practice of public accounting in the State of Rhode Island? Yes (  ) No ( ) 

 
I hereby certify that I am the holder of an unrevoked and unsuspended Certificate/Authority No.  , issued 

to me by the Board of Accountancy of the State of  on  (date 

of issuance). I have never been convicted by any court of a felony or a crime involving moral turpitude. I further 

certify under penalty of perjury to the truth and accuracy of all statements, answers and representations made in this 

application, including completion of the CPE courses set forth on the reverse side of this application. 

 

Signature   Date    
 

Please indicate the reason for your inactive status on a separate sheet of paper and attach to this application. 

If you have been on inactive status for five (5) years or more, please also submit resume with this application. 

 

Enclose a check or money order in the sum of $500.00 payable to GENERAL TREASURER, STATE OF RHODE 

ISLAND. This fee is for any individual applying for reinstatement. Copies of certificates of completion for self-study 

courses reported on the reverse side of this form no longer need to be submitted with this license application. 

Supporting documents or materials for remaining courses need not be submitted to the Board unless requested but 

should be retained in your files for not less than 3 years after the annual license renewal date. Insufficient CPE credits 

may result in suspension of license or fine of $250, or both. Use of CPE credits not earned in reporting year is 

prohibited without Board approval. In addition, you will need to submit a renewal application as well as the fee 

associated with it. Please read the regulations for reinstatement before submitting this application and the regulations 

regarding CPE’s.  If you have been inactive for five years or more, you need additional CPE credits. 

 

Please log on to www.dbr.ri.gov for CPE regulations. 
*For explanation of SS# requirement, go to 

http://webserver.rilin.state.ri.us/Statutes/TITLE5/5-76/5-76-3.HTM. 

http://www.dbr.ri.gov/
http://webserver.rilin.state.ri.us/Statutes/TITLE5/5-76/5-76-3.HTM


Cumulative CPE Reporting – Calendar Year (copies of this page may be added if necessary) 

 
Prior 3 Years Code 1 Code 2 Code 3 Code 4 Code 5 Total 

20       

20       

20       

Totals       

 

Program Attendance Record 
The Board does not accept attached spreadsheets – CPE information must be detailed, i.e. title and description – omitted information will result in return 

of application 

 
School, firm or organization 

conducting program 

Title of program and description of content CPE 

Code 

Dates 

Attended 

Total 

Hours 
Ethics * 

      

      

      

      

      

      

      

      

      

      

      

      

TOTALS:         
 

CPE Codes 

 

1. Remotely Delivered CPE 2. Formal Teaching/Instructing 3. Course Development 4. Ethics 5. In person CPE courses 

 

CPE Code Definitions 

 

1. Remotely Delivered CPE courses will be accepted when Reasonable and Reliable Attendance Verification Mechanisms include but are not necessarily 

limited to: requiring a multi-part code with different parts of the code revealed at different points of the presentation; using interactive test questions or polling 

questions; using pop-up screens that require the user to click to affirm continued attendance. CPAs are subject to disciplinary action by the Board for falsifying 

their attendance at any CPE, including at remotely delivered CPEs. CPAs are required to maintain documentation to certify their attendance at remotely 

delivered CPEs, which must be produced in the event of an audit. 

 



2. Formal teaching (yourself) as instructor or speaker and publication of professional books or articles - limit of 60 hours over 3 years for each 

 

3. Courses devoted to practice development and management skills (non-accounting CPE) - limit of 24 hours over 3 years 

 

4. Ethics-Not less than six (6) hours of the 120 shall be devoted to professional ethics. 

 

5. In person CPE courses-Educational instruction or training in the subjects listed in § 1.8.2 of this Part will qualify for CPE if the instruction is a formal 

program of learning that contributes directly to the professional competence of a CPA or PA after he or she has been issued a permit to practice public 

accounting. In order to qualify for CPE credit hours, the program must be primarily directed to enhancing the professional competence of accountants or like 

professionals. 

 
 

All subject matter is conditional on limitations in Practice Development and Management Skills 

 



STATE OF RHODE ISLAND 

BOARD OF ACCOUNTANCY 

560 Jefferson Blvd 1st Floor 

Warwick, Rhode Island 02886 

 
 

INDIVIDUAL CPA LICENSE RENEWAL INSTRUCTIONS 

1. Your CPA License has an expiration date. When you receive your CPA license, you will have listed an 

effective date and an expiration date. Take note of the Expiration Date. All renewal notices for CPA Licenses 

will be e- mailed in the month of April. 

 

For the CPA license, the renewal forms must be submitted no later than June 30th before the noted Expiration 
Date. You have until June 30th of the year of the Expiration Date to renew without having to reapply, which 

requires Board review, and paying additional reinstatement fees. You will not be able to renew your license 

until you receive the renewal notice. 

Renewal notices will be sent out via email only. Accordingly, it is very important that the department has 

your up to date email address. If your contact information has changed, you are able to go on the 

Elicensing website and update your contact information by using your User ID and your Password. If 

you do not have a User ID and Password, please contact DBR.AcctInquiry@dbr.ri.gov and you will be 

provided with one. If you are a licensed CPA in Rhode Island or if your application is pending and in the 

process of being approved, you are already registered with the Rhode Island Board of Accountancy. Do 

NOT re-register. You must log in with the same credentials you used when you were previously 

registered. If you do not remember your User Id or Password, please contact 

DBR.AcctInquiry@dbr.ri.gov . 
 

2. Enclose a check or money order in the sum of $375.00 payable to the GENERAL TREASURER OFTHE 

STATE OF RHODE ISLAND. 

 
  CPE Reporting: You will be required to list your CPEs on the renewal application. You are not required to attach the 

actual certificates of completion but must continue to retain them per your CPE record-keeping responsibilities. 

 

Please be aware that you may be subject to audits by the Board of Accountancy, which may be done randomly and/or 

initiated after a complaint. If you are selected for an audit you will be required to fill out an Audit form and attach all 

certificates of completion of your CPEs 

 

For Questions/Clarifications of the mandatory CPE, please refer to the Rules and Regulations, Regulation 5, at the following 

link: https://rules.sos.ri.gov/regulations/part/400-00-00-1. 

 

3. To reference any of the R.I. Gen. Laws cited in this application, visit 

http://webserver.rilin.state.ri.us/Statutes/ 
 

4. Additional information may be found at the Board of Accountancy’s web page: 

https://dbr.ri.gov/divisions/accountancy/. 
 

5. Questions about this application may be directed to 401-889-5446 or by e-mail to 

dawne.broadfield@dbr.ri.gov   

mailto:DBR.AcctInquiry@dbr.ri.gov
mailto:DBR.AcctInquiry@dbr.ri.gov
https://rules.sos.ri.gov/regulations/part/400-00-00-1
http://webserver.rilin.state.ri.us/Statutes/
http://webserver.rilin.state.ri.us/Statutes/
https://dbr.ri.gov/divisions/accountancy/
mailto:dawne.broadfield@dbr.ri.gov
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STATE OF RHODE ISLAND 

BOARD OF ACCOUNTANCY 

560 Jefferson Blvd, 1st Floor 

Warwick, Rhode Island 02886 

RENEWAL APPLICATION FOR INDIVIDUAL 

CPA LICENSE 

1. Full name (print) Email 

Residence Address Phone 

Employer Name Phone 

Employer Address

Preference for mailings (check one) residence ( ) business ( )

2. Criminal and Licensing Background

Check all corresponding box(es) below that apply to you. If you checked any box(es), please submit a 

notarized letter giving a complete detailed explanation and include copies of any court records or decision 

issued by a licensing or disciplinary authority. If you previously reported criminal and/or licensing 

background information, please check the box and note “previously reported next to it”. 

❑ Conviction of, pleading guilty or nolo contendere to, or currently pending charges of a crime or an act

constituting a crime of forgery, embezzlement, obtaining money under false pretenses, bribery, larceny,

extortion, conspiracy to defraud, misappropriation of funds, tax evasion, or any other similar criminal offense

or any other felony crime.

❑ Cancellation, revocation, suspension, refusal to issue or renew, or currently pending proceedings pertaining to

a CPA certificate or permit from another state by the other state for any cause other than failure to pay a fee or

to meet the requirements of continuing education in that other state.

❑ Suspension or revocation of the right to practice public accounting before any state or federal agency or

currently pending proceedings for such suspension or revocation.

❑ Suspension or revocation of any other professional or vocational license in the State of Rhode Island or any

other state or foreign country for professional misconduct or currently pending proceedings for such

suspension or revocation.

You are advised that any licensee convicted of, or otherwise pleads guilty or nolo contendere to, any felony or 

misdemeanor, or is disciplined by any governmental agency in connection with a CPA or any other occupational 

license, shall file with the Board a written report of such conviction or disciplinary action within sixty (60) days of 

the final judgment or final order in the case. 

Jovonna.Edwards
Underline
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3. Practice Unit Information

Are you engaged in the practice of public accounting in the State of Rhode Island? Yes ( ) No ( ) 

You are hereby advised that a Rhode Island CPA Practice Unit License is required if the license has 

established a physical office location in Rhode Island. Please check which situation applies to you: 

❑ There have not been any changes since my last renewal period.

❑ I will be practicing under Practice Unit License # . 

❑ I am planning on submitting a Practice Unit License Application.

❑ I am claiming firm mobility and have reviewed the Rhode Island Laws to determine that I qualify to claim firm mobility.

I hereby certify that this practice unit does  does not perform accounting or auditing engagements 

including, but not limited to, attest services, audits, reviews, compilations, forecasts, projections or other special reports. 

Signature Date 

4. I hereby certify that I have completed continuing professional education (CPE) credits that satisfy the conditions listed below. I

acknowledge that I am responsible for maintaining documentation of compliance with the CPE requirements and must maintain

such documentation for a period of four (4) years. I further acknowledge that I am subject to audits by the Board of Accountancy

which may be done randomly and/or initiated after a complaint. The three (3) year CPE term shall commence on July 1 of the year

in which a licensee’s license was last issued or renewed and end on June 30th three (3) years thereafter. A CPE day will consist of

eight (8) hours of formal instruction. An instruction hour will consist of fifty (50) minutes and a half hour will consist of twenty-

five (25) minutes. However, for continuous conferences and conventions, when individual segments are less than (25) twenty-five

minutes, the sum of the segments may be considered one total program.

A. Licensees must complete not less than one hundred twenty (120) hours or fifteen days of formal CPE during the preceding

three (3) year period.

B. All programs must qualify for CPE credit hours as set forth in RIBOA Regulation 1.8: Continuing Professional Education.

C. Not more than twenty-four (24) hours of the one hundred twenty (120) hours shall be devoted to Personal Development and

Marketing.

D. Not less than six (6) hours of the one hundred twenty (120) hours shall be devoted to regulatory ethics and behavioral.

E. Credit for Remotely Delivered CPE programs shall no longer have an 80-hour limit.

F. Credit for lecturing or CPE session moderating that enhances professional competence as a practicing accountant shall not

exceed two (2) hours for each hour of presentation. Credit for such preparation and teaching shall not exceed sixty (60) CPE

hours for that three (3) year reporting period.

G. Credit for preparation of published books and articles that contribute to the professional competence of the licensee shall not

exceed sixty (60) CPE hours for that three (3) year reporting period.

Please fill out the attached CPE form, if the form is not completed your renewal will not be processed.

ATTESTATION OF TRUTH AND ACCURACY 

I attest under penalty of perjury to the truth and accuracy of all statements, answers and representations made in 

this application. 

Signature of Authorized Representative Date 
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State of Rhode Island 

BOARD OF ACCOUNTANCY 

560 Jefferson Blvd, 1st Floor 

Warwick, Rhode Island 02886 

Taxpayer Status Affidavit / Identity Verification 

All persons applying or renewing any license, registration, permit or other authority (hereinafter called “licensee”) 

to conduct a business or occupation in the state of Rhode Island are required to file all applicable tax returns and 

pay all taxes owed to the state prior to receiving a license as mandated by state law (RIGL 5-76) except as noted 

below. 

In order to verify that the state is not owed taxes, licensees are required to provide their Social Security Number 

and Federal Tax Identification Number as appropriate. These numbers will be transmitted to the Division of 

Taxation to verify tax status prior to the issuance of a license. This declaration must be made prior to the issuance 

of a license. 

Please return this affidavit along with your license application to Rhode Island Board of Accountancy, 560 

Jefferson Blvd 1ST Floor, Warwick, RI 02886 

Licensee Declaration 

❑ I hereby declare, under penalty of perjury, that I have filed all required state tax returns and have paid all

taxes owed.

❑ I have entered a written installment agreement to pay delinquent taxes that is satisfactory to the Tax

Administrator.

❑ I am currently pursuing administrative review of taxes owed to the state.

❑ I am in federal bankruptcy.  (Case # ) 

❑ I am in state receivership. (Case # ) 

❑ I have been discharged from Bankruptcy. (Case # ) 

Type of Professional License for which you are applying 

Full Name (Please Print or Type) Social Security Number (or FEIN if appropriate) 

Signature Phone Number (including area code if not 401) 

Date 
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