Notice to CPAs

Notice to CPAs·with 3-year license term expiring June 30, 2020

Since the reporting period was changed from December 31, 2019 to June 30, 2020 during the last year of your renewal term, if you accumulated above the minimum required CPE hours between December 31, 2019 and June 30, 2020, you may report such credits in your July1, 2020 – June 30, 2023 renewal. This applies only to credits obtained above the minimum during that specific time period of December 31, 2019 and June 30, 2020. Any CPA who attempts to double report credits for two different renewal periods is subject to discipline. Such carry-over will not be allowed in the future - it is a special accommodation for CPAs who planned their CPEs around a deadline that was subsequently changed.

Renewal Notices

Renewal notices will be sent out via email only. Permits are issued for three (3)-year terms and renewals are due on June 30 of that third year. This is a hard deadline that you are responsible for meeting. There are penalties for late renewal.

You will only be able to renew once you receive the email. Accordingly, it is very important that the department has your up to date email address. If your contact information has changed, you are able to go on the Elicensing website and update your contact information by using your User ID and your Password.

If you do not have a User ID and Password, please contact Dawne Broadfield and she will provide you with one.

If you are a licensed CPA in Rhode Island or if your application is pending and in the process of being approved, you are already registered with the Rhode Island Board of Accountancy. Do NOT re-register. You must log in with the same credentials you used when you were previously registered. If you do not remember your User Id or Password, please contact Dawne Broadfield.

Frequently Asked Questions

Please refer to the Frequently Asked Questions, which includes information about the Board and its functions. If you have any additional questions, please contact:

Board of Accountancy

Dawne Broadfield, Board Executive
560 Jefferson Blvd., First Floor
Warwick RI 02886
Phone: (401) 889-5446

Statutes and Regulations

Guidance / Bulletins

License Verification

CPAs who need a special license verification form submitted to another state for purposes of licensing or to an employer for purposes of employment may request the same by emailing Dawne Broadfield. A blank copy of the form we use is attached for your reference. If you are requesting a verification for purposes of licensing in another state and that other state has a preferred form, please attach the appropriate form in your email. You will be asked to pay a $25.00 processing fee.

As a reminder, you may also access licensing and disciplinary information at no cost using the following links:

Applications and Forms

Enforcement Actions